We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay in Cleveland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I got a great rate booking through the Horseshoe Cleveland's website (under $70/night; $100 less than booking directly through the hotel!!) and had a fine stay here. My king room on the 6th floor was spacious and comfortable. Not too many extras in the room (no robe. no newspaper in AM) but you couldnt beat the price. The hotel is connected to the Casino, Terminal Tower, the Ritz and the Quicken Loan Arena. I never had to go outside to get from my hotel to a Cavs game to the Casino. This was priceless in Cleveland in February,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terp95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Hello Terp and thank you for your glowing review! We're happy to hear that you'll be returning and we'll look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

I want to start by stating that we were guests of the casino for our three night stay. Since our stay was free, I didn't expect the hotel to put us in the nicest room. I read on here to ask for a room on the higher floors to get a bigger room, but that didn't work for us. Our room was on the 11th floor and we barely had room to turn around. The bathroom is especially tiny. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. The hotel itself is beautiful and in a good downtown location. We walked over to West 6th both nights for dinner. I was able to walk into the connecting Tower City to get a cup of hot tea when I needed an afternoon pick up. We spent a little time in the bar after dinner and it had a good size crowd. The pool area is in a courtyard and is a great gathering spot even if you aren't swimming. There are tables set up and the area is spacious. The workout area is well appointed and includes the popular machines, free weights, and cool towels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sgrodek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate the positive review and hope that you had a successful time at the casino! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I adore this property - I have been staying there for years.. Yes, the heating system isn't new, yes, sometimes the elevators are slow but the staff makes up for all of that - nothing is too much trouble.

I was on the top floor and the room was newly done. Very comfortable overlooking the Square/Lake in the distance. Yes, there was street noise but as I live in Chicago hardly noticed it.

Mitch was lovely as well as the doorman Paul who I think has been there for over 30 years as many of the staff has.

I needed a tub chair as I have a bad leg and there are no bars in the shower - it was up in five minutes. There is a lift to the 2nd floor from the main lobby if someone doesn't want to do the stairs so that review is way off!

Is it a modern Marriott - NO - It was built in 1915!!!

I had a late lunch with a client in the Lobby Bar - the food was very good.

I had to leave at 6am and the girl at the desk asked if I would like someone to walk me down to get a taxi...

Will always stay here....

Room Tip: Try for one of the high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mp0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Hello Mp0010 and thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We're happy to hear that your stay was a success and we appreciate all of your kind words. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Cleveland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Renaissance in Cleveland, Ohio is a great place to stay. It has an old fashion feel for a 4 star hotel. The lobby is big with a bar and resturant. The staff was friendly and most helpful when we asked directions. The valet was great and our bags were brought to our immediately. It is located within walking distance to the new casino ,the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and other attractions. The rooms are clean and somewhat small due to the age of the hotel. The hotel is is attached to the Tower City with shops and resturants.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kcoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Hello kcoad and thank you for your wonderful review! We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our room had a king-size bed. The room had no heating system. Guest services told us to open the window...which only opened three inches...and let the warm chlorinated air migrate
into the room to help warm it up. Are you kidding me?!?!? January in Cleveland, Ohio and the heating system for the room??!?!?! Not to mention the noise level that didn't allow for one to sleep until after 2 a.m. This was my first and last time staying at this "luxury" hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 1139 during the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Carolyn, thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the temperature control issues you encountered while staying. Due to the historic nature of our beautiful 1918 property, we do in fact experience some quirks such as the situation with our HVAC system, which we are constantly working to improve. Once again, we apologize for any problems while visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here over the course of 1 week back in July 2012, I say over a course, as we took the 2nd & 3rd nights out in Niagara Falls then returned.

We didn’t actually choose this hotel, it happened to be the wedding hotel for a local Cleveland couple we know. So we checked it out online, it looked decent enough so decided it would be better to stay here where all the action was going to be than bother finding somewhere else.

I think there are cheaper hotels around, but this one seemed comfortable and affordable and had the amenities we were looking for, plus it seemed smack in the middle of town and close to the newly opened casino!

We had had a terrible delayed flight over from the UK and were several hours late, arriving at about 3am instead of 7pm! Upon arrival the staff could see we were exhausted & were very friendly, all loving our English accents! And nothing was too much trouble.

We were checked into a very large room (see attached pic –sorry about the mess!) with a decent sized bathroom, not the greatest view – overlooking the large Post Office building, but we weren’t that bothered. It also had a writing desk and relaxing chairs! Breakfast was buffet style with all you would need, and VERY attentive and courteous staff and chefs!

So far so good. We then left for a two day excursion to Niagara and when we returned we were checked into a different room…. Quite the opposite to what we had the first night.

To set the scene a little, the hotel is pretty much a square with a central enclosed courtyard in this courtyard is the pool – nice enough for a little dip, but no Olympic pool.

The room we had this time it was a much smaller internal room, a window - but only over looking the internal courtyard/pool and other rooms, so it was a little darker. The main thing was though we weren’t sure if the A/C was working correctly as the room smelt a little ‘damp’ and almost ‘musty’. The mrs wasn’t happy so I went to reception to see if they had an external room available to change to. The reception staff were very helpful and although the hotel was almost at capacity (apparently) they did manage to find us a room facing outside.

This room was much brighter and almost as good a size as the first night so we were once happy again! We stayed a further 3 nights and everything was great! The wedding went without a hitch and all the staff from the servers to the receptionists to even the cleaners were well presented and courteous.

We very much enjoyed our stay here and any little problems we had were dealt with professionally. To be honest I wouldn’t really have a need to visit Cleveland again (other than to visit our friends) but if we did and needed a hotel we would be quite happy to stay here again!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for an outside facing room! If possible one over looking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmyboriquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Jimmy, thank you for visiting and for your review. We are thrilled to hear that (most) of your trip was perfect! We apologize for your disappointment with the smaller room. Our 1918 historic hotel is unique that not two of the 490 guest rooms are the same. We are happy to hear that you were moved to a room that better suited you and glad that the rest of your stay was enjoyable. We hope to see you on your next trip abroad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed one night in the beautiful old Cleveland Renaissance Hotel in Tower City Center. The hotel is connected to the shops at Tower City, the Horseshoe Cleveland Casino, RTA (regional transit trains & buses). The huge lobby seating area and bar take you back in time with the spectacularly ornate ceilings, marble floors and pillars, and comfy couches and chairs looking out the large window to the public square.

The staff was friendly and the room well-appointed. The room looked out on the interior courtyard with a pool and we would have liked a skyline view, but since the room was free, we were OK with that. The bed was comfy, the desk and TV both good sizes. The bathroom was a bit disappointing. Not dirty, but just off. The toilet was tilted a bit, the rubberized tub floor didn't meet the floor underneath, so it moved when you stepped on it (creepy).

The parking $24 was a bit cramped in the old building, so the valet $30 is your best bet if you can afford either. You can get a horseshoe Total Rewards card and park for free nearby if you gamble for 30 minutes. The front desk held our bags both coming and going, and this worked out well for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tervy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Tervy8, thank you for staying. We're happy to hear you enjoyed everything. We'll hope to see you again soon. Travel safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
0.2 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Sq, Cleveland, OH 44113-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: $119 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing