We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Old-school Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Old-school Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The rooms were quite large and renovated. Great service, nice bedding. The lobby is really nice and reminds you that there were times when people used to dress up before they head out the door.

Slash and his band stayed here when they werelaying in Clvlnd- we ran into him on our way to breakfast- and that was definitely cool!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SuzerSchmoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    382
    213
    105
    47
See reviews for
169
289
56
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Beautiful Old Hotel. Not the most modern obviously, but just LOVE the old classic hotels. Room was VERY clean, staff extremely nice & the housekeeping staff were very accomodating. Cant comment on price, as room was a comp thru the Casino. Location was excellent & actually attached with walkway to the Horseshoe, which helped as the weather was lousy for our stay. Very convenient to all the bars & restaurants in the area & the Valet staff was always quick with the car when needed. The bar/lobby area is very attractive, kind of reminds me of a smaller version of the Palmer House in Chicago. OIbviously nothing comes close to that.... but if you like the old classic properties over the bells & whistles of today's modern properties, this is the place to stay Downtown!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recently flew out to Cleveland, OH with my brother to visit the house used in the movie "A Christmas Story". The Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was located right in downtown Cleveland, had a huge mall attached to it, and casino! I did not know how big this mall really was until we went shopping and didn't have to leave the hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, as well as the waiters/watiresses in the hotel restaurant and bar. The rooms were large and reasonably priced. The hotel itself was also beautiful with it's water fountain and gorgeous architecture. I would highly recomend this hotel if you're in town for a visit to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as well. It is in walking distance. I may come back for a visit again! There were also many steak houses and restaurants in walking distance as well.

Room Tip: I would not recomend a room next to a suite; we encountered a large party one of the nights, and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here and had a great stay. We found the hotel's location perfect for our trip, within walking distance of restaurants and bars as well as the football stadium. We were given a corner room with a King-sized bed and we were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. It was enormous, including the very large bathroom! The hotel appears to be newly renovated and our room was clean and bright.

We ate a small breakfast in the morning and our service was outstanding, although I would have liked a few more small plate breakfast choices.

Although parking is pricey and the garage is a bit odd (hard to maneuver larger cars and strange parking spaces), it was safe and convenient.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cleveland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was somewhat disappointed by this hotel. I had reserved a Junior Suite with king sized bed and received a bed they claimed was queen sized and a room so small the bed just barely fit. In addition the parking fee for the hotel is $24 per day, not $18 as displayed in the hotel listing. Also, it cost me over $10 to print out two pages in the hotel business center ($6.95 internet connect fee for 15 minutes and $1.95 printing fee per page). On the positive side the hotel is very close to the sports stadiums, bars, restaurants and the casino.

Room Tip: Park directly across the street. It is only $10 per night instead of the $24 the hotel charges
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbirch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The only complaint would be the parking lot but if you valet you won't see it! Felt like we were in NYC and the rooms were very clean. The hotel was located next door to the new casino and next to great dining and bars. We were out on the town with no kids and could walk to everything no cabs. The hotel lobby and bar were very nice and the entire stay was wonderful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel. Small rooms/bathrooms, inital room smelled of smoke, stains on walls and carpet, rude staff (both front desk and maid service), loud, bad parking, over-priced. Only positive was a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily39314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.4 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Property: Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Address: 24 Public Sq, Cleveland, OH 44113-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing