We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cleveland Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Cleveland Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Often when in this part of Ohio I'll stay at a hotel away from downtown, simply because it is more convenient to where I have to be for business. With that said, when I have fewer appointments (although important ones) I will try to get a room at the Hyatt Regency Cleveland at the Arcade. The location is perfect, the rooms are nice, and the building itself is very unique.

I'll start with the building, if you are able to get here at a decent time in the day, it's a really cool spot to walk around and check out the shops, the restaurant and it even has a postal outlet there which is convenient for business if you need to get something somewhere and don't want to search for USPS, UPS or FedEx offices. It's really old school with a cool suit shop at the front, it's just unique and not what you find just anywhere.

For the location, it can't get much better in that it is just a couple blocks from the casino, so if that's your thing you don't have to walk far even on a cold night. Literally out the back door you walk virtually right into E. 4th St. which is one of the best parts of Cleveland if you ask me. Michael Symon's Lola is there, El Zocalo Mexican Restaurant, Irish Pub, you name it and you can get it there. Great spot. Staying here in the summer is just a blast, you can walk less than a block and you're having a great time and if you over-imbibe, simply stumble back and you're in your hotel. Love this area.

The rooms themselves, by virtue of being in an older building, are a little dated, but they are always clean, well appointed and sometimes even interestingly laid out. They have updated a lot of bathrooms which is nice, comfortable beds as usual at Hyatt, and the desk in this room was facing the TV. That's not so good for productivity, but I like to have that when I'm on the road. Long days mean I'd like to at least have a little relaxing while getting some work done.

Rates have always been reasonable, they do not have a Regency Lounge so they include a bunch of breakfasts, which usually doesn't help me considering I'm usually on my own, but it's a good touch. Also, the date I was there in January I wasn't able to use one of my upgrades to a suite. Not their fault if they were sold out so no big deal.

I've enjoyed my visits to this hotel and the location really can't be beat.

Room Tip: Had a room on the end of the gallery and the set up was nicer than the ones in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    491
    224
    119
    49
See reviews for
289
417
64
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We went to a wedding at The Hyatt Regency at The Arcade and valeted our car. While we were enjoying ourselves at the reception, the valet they subcontract (Standard Parking) left our lights on, then jumped our battery with the cables backwards and caused damage to the car. They gave us the runaround, did not return calls, and are refusing to pay. While we had a nice time at the wedding (before we realized the damage the valet had done), we will never return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is an interesting place to stay; in any other city you wouldn't be able to touch a room in a hotel like this as inexpensively as I just did. The rooms themselves are of Hyatt-level competence; spacious, with good, comfortable beds. But the Arcade itself is amazing; it was one of the first ten buildings put on the National Register of Historic Places, kind of a mall before there was such a thing. As a hotel, I had a quibble; on a cold Sunday night at about midnight, I wanted to have a glass of wine before retiring, but the restaurants in the hotel were closed and nothing available from room service. Bummer. Truthfully, though, like a lot of things in Cleveland, this is a gem of a place few Clevelanders are really aware exists. What a shame. I'm a native Clevelander who returned for a weekend, happy the Arcade has survived tough times. Directly across the street is E. 4th with nationally recognized Lola and Greenhouse Tavern restaurants, among others. Cleveland ain't New York, but there's new development, and a burgeoning residential scene. (PS: Cheaper parking across the street at lot between E. 6th and E. 9th.)

Room Tip: When booking make sure you ask for Superior Ave or Euclid Ave side. Superior Ave rooms overlook impr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pjb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I was traveling with my 1 year old by myself. When I checked in the receptionist looked at where my room was and told me there was a wedding that evening. She then moved us to a quieter room so my baby wouldn't be disturbed. I had just had a bad experience with that same scenario so her thoughtfulness almost made me cry! We had a great stay and for what this hotel lacks in "style" it more than makes up for with its exceptional service!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ttroy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Hyatt in the Old Arcade is a very unique place to stay in downtown Cleveland. The arcade is beautiful. The rooms are fine. The location is within walking distance of most trendy spots in downtown. Easy access to restaurants, the casino, and other entertainment.

Room Tip: It seems that the room vary in size. Our king was pretty small compared to some others we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgrodek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The beds are very comfortable, location-great, but for two days I paid $36 for parking in the garage. No valet; I parked next to the hotel. Being a guest at the Hyatt, you should absolutely 100% get a discount for parking. That was ludacrious and uncalled for. Other than the fact that it was 11 degress and below during my stay, that the hotel doesn't have a parking garage that directly connects to the hotel was inconvenient. The 'Arcade' isn't much to speak of. Not impressed with the food choices, the Starbucks (which I was excited about), the stores. Very outdated and exaggerated.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthShoreQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were shown the new updated rooms when we booked this hotel. Our room was decapitated and dark. The curtains and carpet worn torn and tattered. Very old and dated and luxurious for the price. The bathroom was very small.. Very disappointed. The staff was amazing and very friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyhass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Property: Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Address: 420 Superior Ave., Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#15 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#19 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown in an elegant National Historic Landmark Building, the Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. A total of 293 guest rooms including 4 suites. 14,000 square feet of divisible meeting space including 4 executive boardrooms, 5 banquet rooms, and 4800 square feet of prefunction space. 1890, a contemporary restaruant and lounge, seats 210 open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Fully equipped Fitness Center. The Hyatt Regency Cleveland is within walking distance of the Cleveland Convention Center, Progressive Field, Browns Stadium, Quicken Loans Arena, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, East 4th Street entertainment district, Cleveland Clinic, The Warehouse District and Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Hotel Cleveland
Hyatt Cleveland
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing