We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arcade rooms are amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greater Cleveland
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Arcade rooms are amazing”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and we had an arcade room. The room was quite beautiful and spacious. There was a living area with a couch, chair, table, desk, and television. There was a wide hallway that went to the bedroom which was a circular/octagon shape. The layout was beautiful. It is one of the coolest looking and spacious hotel rooms I have stayed in. The corridor to the room overlooked the Arcade, which has some business people in for lunch at the food court and some people going to the shops (a salon, U.S. post office, etc.) The Arcade closes at 6 to the public and it is very cool at night when there is no or few other people there. The fitness center for the hotel also occupies one of the spots in the Arcade, which is a very cool place to workout. The bell service attendants were extremely nice and helpful. The restaurant and lounge affiliated with the hotel (1890) are also in the Arcade. The Cleveland Public Library has some interesting architecture and is located right across the street on Superior. Guy's Pizza is also located nearby on Superior. Definitely order from there if looking for some pizza. The room service food and hotel restaurant is the best of any Hyatt Regency I have stayed at. 1890 has some talented people working there making inspired food. The hotel is also a close walk to Progressive Field and the Q. There are also a plethora of restaurants and bars nearby on E.4th St, featuring restaurants of three James Beard Award nominees - Michael Symon, Jonathon Sawyer, and Zack Bruell. The street also has a bowling alley, coffee shop, and the cool C.L.E. Clothing Company gift store. The Horseshoe Casino is also not too far of a walk. This is a nice central location to be in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClevelandBeachBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    532
    239
    125
    53
See reviews for
327
468
68
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

It was with some trepidation that we booked our room at this hotel given a few of the less positive reviews we read on Trip Advisor (especially the one about the haunted room in 214 <grin>). However, our options were limited because there were two huge events in Cleveland that weekend and we really wanted someplace centrally located to the entertainment district and the Quicken Loans arena so we could walk to the concert we were attending. In short, our experience at the Hyatt Arcade was simply outstanding. The bell station staff was fantastic. We were running late when we got to the hotel. They got our bags onto a cart quickly, took care of our car, and walked us to registration and waited until we got checked in because they knew we didn’t have time to call down later for our bags. The bell man that helped us was really upbeat and made us feel welcome from the minute we stepped out of our car. Registration was quick and we got to our room which was a perfect size and had all the expected accommodations, nice size closet, modern flat screen TV and a safe for storing valuables. The bell staff also arranged right away to have a taxi waiting to take us to our dinner reservation at a nearby restaurant because they knew we were running late. I was also impressed that their smoking room came equipped with a special air filter (effective, but quiet!), something that I wish other hotels would employ. Our room had a lot of character, with high ceilings, tall windows and the beds were very comfortable and the other furniture attractive. Another reviewer posted pictures of some furniture that was worn, but the furniture in our room looked brand new. Throughout our stay, we found the hotel staff and the people working at coffee shop were friendly and helpful. As you can see from the pictures on the hotel website, the hotel is in a historic building with a very attractive atrium. If we could arrange our trip over again, we would plan to stay an extra day or two because we really loved this hotel and can’t wait to go back and explore the nearby entertainment district. I didn’t mind the parking charge - $23 for a day of parking at an urban hotel in a city the size of Cleveland isn’t that unusual. I purposely left my computer home on this trip, so I didn’t use Wi-fi because my other devices connect just fine with 4G. But if I had needed Wi-FI, I would have been irritated by any kind of charge. I have to agree with another reviewer that fast Wi-Fi should be a free service at any hotel in this day and age, particularly an upscale hotel. Management should seriously revisit that issue. Other than that, I don’t know why our experience was so different from what some previous guests have written, but we wholeheartedly endorse this place. Even the ghosts were friendly because they let us sleep in peaceful slumber, undisturbed, all night long. Our stay was delightful and we highly recommend the Hyatt Regency Cleveland at the Arcade.

Room Tip: I haven't seen many complaints about noise, but if you are a light sleeper, you can request a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

While the outside looks to be housing some great hotel experience, this was just average. The front desk staff were pleasant - I was there while someone was having a bit of a meltdown - and was handling graciously. The room? Not much to write home about -- the lighting was bad, the decor a bit beaten up and the bathroom was fair. I was situated behind the elevators so that provided a bit of background music to sleep by. I did visit the bar and wasn't too impressed with the staff or location. Room service was delivered promptly but it was a bit overpriced for the quality. Valet was timely and not too pricey for city parking. Overall, it was the location that was the highlight -- I could leave through the arcade and be out amid the weekend crowds. I found that to be the saving grace of an otherwise forgettable hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New River Gorge, WV
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Booked here because it was easy access to Quicken Arena for a concert. Forgot to investigate parking before leaving and surprised to find it was an extra $23. It's a beautiful historic building and I had a tower room. Very large room configured strangely - one very worn chair provided. Had the 2 beds positioned so close to the bathroom you could hardly enter it - there's plenty of room so I don't understand the placement of the beds - move them over some!! Room had very strong disinfectant smell like Lysol. There was a wedding there that night but I was at concert and got back to hotel at 12:15am so I don't know how noisy it would have been. Had to go to another floor to get ice. Wifi was additional $10 more a day - ridiculous! Get with the times, Hyatt! Every other hotel offers it for free! No-brand bottled water in the room was $4. I liked the extra security of having to use card to access elevator. I had stayed in a much less expensive hotel the night before, which provided refrigerator, microwave, free wifi, free breakfast, clean-smelling and free parking so not impressed at all with the Hyatt in Cleveland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Although the "Hyatt Cleveland" is absolutely beautiful, be very careful what room they put you in. I highly advise you steer clear of room 214.

I was in town like many others for a convention at the Marriott Hotel around the corner. I checked in late after a miserable flight from Laguardia that was supposed to leave at 1:30 with a stop over in Pittsburgh, but was cancelled due to bad weather. I ended up arriving at the Hyatt a little after midnight completely exhausted.

As soon as I entered the room I had a funny feeling, like something was watching me. I don't know, the room just felt dark and eerie. I had to be up at 8:00, so I took a hot bath (nice bathtub by the way) to relax my nerves and get some sleep. Much needed after my 13 hour journey from Brooklyn.

I tossed and I turned, I turned and I tossed. Finally, I turned on the bedside lamp and pulled out my book. Reading at night always knocks me out, but then again so does a hot bath. Every time I shut me eyes and started to relax, I kept having uncomfortable thoughts and was so on edge I could not sleep. Finally at around 4:00 am, sheer exhaustion got to me and I passed out. My wake-up call came 4 hours later. I got up and dragged myself to the convention for the very important debut of our new product offering. It was hell, I was running on coffee and empty throughout the entire day. I struggled through it, all the while wishing the day it would finally come to an end, so I could go back to my room and get some sleep.

5:30 finally rolled around and I went straight back to my room missing the evening bowling event, a very important networking opportunity, but I just couldn't do it. So back in my room, I ordered the salmon (very nice, but a bit bland) and a glass of wine. I took a hot steaming bath and rolled into bed with my book. Again, a foreboding heaviness was in the room. Again, exhausted I turned off the light and tried to fall asleep. And again, the same experience as the night before. I got out of bed and did a little yoga and some stretching. I tried some more reading. When that failed, I went online and found one of those apps to help you sleep. I downloaded and listened to it for 45 minutes. It was relaxing, but still I could not fall asleep. Finally, again I passed out and was lucky to get 5 hours this night . Still not nearly enough, especially having the night I did before.

In the morning I packed my bags and went to the checkout. When the young woman asked me how my stay was, I told her. I said there is something wrong with that room and got next to no sleep the past 2 nights. As she cheerfully apologized and told me she was sorry to hear that, I could not help but notice the other employee a bit more senior standing to her right look down and slightly away, obviously she knew the deal.

I paid my bill and dragged my sorry self over to the Marriott. Upon entering the lobby, a sweet young bell person rushed over to my aid offering to check my bag for me. Seeing my dismal face, he proclaimed; "I am going to make you smile if it is the last thing I do today." I looked up at him and apologized for my behavior and proceeded to tell him about my stay at the Hyatt Cleveland. The gentleman bowed his head and shook it from left to right. "Miss, I've worked here for 2 years now, he said. And if you had any idea how many people have told me this exact same stories and worse, you wouldn't believe it."

Do what you will people, but you have been warned. Stay away from this hotel!

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 214!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Sorry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCleveland, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Sorry S,
We appreciate you sharing these details about your experience at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. We apologize that your stay did not meet expectations. Our guest's comfort is a top priority for us and we hope that you’ll give us a second chance to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at better hyatt hotels in other major cities, however for the city of cleveland didn't expect anything out of ordinary. Decent room, bathroom, nothing special. people are better off staying near university circle, due to its culture and places to see,rather than downtown which is kinda deserted. Overall, I guess it was a nice stay at the hyatt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srsr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. At check in I paid to upgrade to a better room with a King bed. Room was dirty. Finger prints on windows, furniture, and mirrors. Sink had a huge crack in it, grout was missing in shower wall tiles, and I had to fix toilet. They moved us without any issue, but next room was better in that it needed no immediate repair. Corridors and common areas are not very clean and are damaged by wear and tear. The arcade is amazing, but doesn't make up for the hotel not being in top shape. Disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarisonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCleveland, Manager at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
HarisonR,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. We regret that your experience was outside of our normal service. We have shared your review with our executive housekeeper and chief engineer. The condition of our guest rooms is a top priority for us, and we are taking the necessary steps to address the items that you mentioned. We hope this experience doesn’t deter you from joining us at Hyatt Regency Cleveland again, and we hope you’ll give us a second chance to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#3 of 38 in Cleveland
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Property: Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Address: 420 Superior Ave E, Cleveland, OH 44114-1208
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#15 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#19 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown in an elegant National Historic Landmark Building, the Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. A total of 293 guest rooms including 4 suites. 14,000 square feet of divisible meeting space including 4 executive boardrooms, 5 banquet rooms, and 4800 square feet of prefunction space. 1890, a contemporary restaruant and lounge, seats 210 open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Fully equipped Fitness Center. The Hyatt Regency Cleveland is within walking distance of the Cleveland Convention Center, Progressive Field, Browns Stadium, Quicken Loans Arena, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, East 4th Street entertainment district, Cleveland Clinic, The Warehouse District and Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Hotel Cleveland
Hyatt Cleveland
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing