We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Elegant full of history and charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Elegant full of history and charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt regency arcade at Cleveland for 2 nights over Monday and Tuesday
The place is charming and unique in its architecture. It is like you go back to he 19th century.very high ceilings, maybe 12ft.
The staff is friendly and accommodating.
It is located in the centre of everything I needed. The new Horseshoe casino, the 4th street, which is full of restaurants, rock n roll hall of fame, the baseball arena.
I stayed at the sixth floor of one of the towers. Even so I did not spend much time in the room, the room was very nice, unexpectedly well up kept.
There is an overall feeling that some of the components are a bit tired and not modern, however maybe it is just part of the heritage, it is also a bit dark.
The indoor galleria is a huge open space with a few shops, small food court, and a post office. The shops are really not contributing to the overall charm of the place. Feels that they are not related to the hotel and out of place.
I had breakfast at the hotels restaurant, it was not a buffet but full service. Served very well and surprisingly not expensive!!

Overalls, great location, very good service, very accommodating staff, very good value for money. Con: Might need some paint job in rooms and brighter lighting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower facing the lake Or if you like the heritage arcade experience, it seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vadimlud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    431
    201
    101
    44
See reviews for
241
354
56
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This must be an old train station. Like a huge echo chamber with VERY poor sound proofing and a big wedding on the first floor. Very noisey and annoying .
Will not stay here again. Nearby Marriott much better.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
183 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Very cool building - the Arcade is historic and looks like it's out if the 20's. Rooms in the Arcade side are old storefronts or appear to be. Very cool, perfect location, and reasonable. The bar however is completely dead, very quiet, and had a horribly loud refrigerator. They sell tiny martinis for $12. So, stay here but go to the casino down the street!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Fl
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Thanks to C.A. from Washington I chose this hotel to stay at while in town for a combination of purposes.

I upgraded to a presidential suite since we were staying four days and needed a private work center as well as room to roam.

This suite #805 was $469 a night. In Tampa it would have been much higher. The room itself was gorgeous! Lots of windows, a view of the library with the stadium and the lake in the background. Nicely decorated and furnished with a fireplace, garden tub, seperate glass shower, dining room, and kitchen area. ALong with a full work area with printer. Marble foyer, in room movies, room service, it had it all.

The hotel location is ideal! The view superb.

I requested a bottle of champage and chocolate dipped berries to be in the room,but when I checked in the clerk said, "oh i see your request when would you like them" I stated now would be nice and got them 3 hours later when we got back from dinner.

The work station never worked. Now obviously I can't afford a room, vacation and meals that we afforded without being a much needed staple in my company. Being unable to work for four days was unacceptable. I reported the problem to the front desk who assured me they would send someone up that day while I perused the city. They didn't.

Getting a large kitchen area was important to me as I have special dietary needs and cant eat just any crap while on the raod. That being said, I ordered specifically in restaurants knowing I could bring food back to the room to have my needs met later. The refrigerator didnt' work. Well it kept it at room temp. Setting my bottled water under the air vent kept it cooler. I reported it as well. No one ever came to check it. I ended up putting an ice bucket full of ice in it to keep it cool. Thanks for ruining my special ordered food.

One thing I must say, DO NOT GET AN ARCADE ROOM! Unless you are part of the numerous weddings that go on here nightly you will not sleep. Now, I did not stay in one of these rooms, I almost fell for it but again needed better accomodations. If I had stayed here I would have screamed at someone to move me. The music blaring from the weddings would make it impossible to sleep in one these rooms or even rest. DOn't do it!!

The doormen and the valet were decent. Joe Gordon was very helpful . Collin in sales got me the room I wanted and was a gem to work with. The room service? Terrible! Ordered at 11:30 sunday. Menu stated breakfast available until noon lunch served after 11am. Apparently not cause it shook them all up when I tried to get both. Maid service? Terrible. Got turn down the first night, never again. Maid came morning one and asked me "what do you want me to do" Umm...clean the room would suffice. Front desk clerks never sent up repair people and never followed up with it. In room movies, never worked. TV Check out, never worked.

All in all, I loved my room. I would have loved it more if the amenities I paid to have were actually working. I would stay here again but next time I'd make it a point to make sure these items were correctly working or wring someones neck until they were!!

Room Tip: Dont get an arcade room. THey overlook the noisey arcade area and you will never sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vgonzalez2034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed in the hotel for a weekend trip to Cleveland. Despite the hotel being labeled 4 stars, there are no amenities at the hotel (pool, sauna) the fitness area is mediocre at best. The room was at most 300 sq.ft, not well decorated and had very old furniture. The bathroom was terrble, with one toilet paper roll and a tiny bathtub. The toilettries smelled aweful.

The staff became helpful after first putting me in a room on the second floor directly over the restairant where a loud wedding was taking place well into the night. After much negotiation I was moved to a corner room.

Room Tip: Don't think there are good room, hotel is very very old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mm1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I'm in this business; so, perhaps I'm being too critical. In fact, this stay would be average for a lesser brand. Unfortunately, this was not Hyatt's best product. At least, I still associate the brand with a much more sophisticated package.

First, the good news: The Front Desk staff were pleasant and reasonably helpful. The vendor handling the valet parking, while not particularly polished, was really very efficient and hospitable.

The bad news was the room: I realize that a repurposed building will not consistently accommodate everything one would find in a new build; however, room 413 was like eating at the kids' table. I knew something was odd by the time I walked down a long hall only to turn into another, narrow, lonely corridor. I estimate the room wasn't much more than 300 square feet, total. Cold upon checkin, I reset the thermostat to 75 in order to take out the chill. Perhaps it was the view. The room was dark, it's two windows revealed a grimy scene from a Batman movie. The carpet was threadbare at the entrance to the tiny, dimly lighted bathroom. The back of the bathroom door was scarred where it repeatedly came in contact with the retrofitted, curved curtain rod. Even the mattress was sagging. Come to think of it, the whole room was sagging. In any case, I can only imagine it was originally a storeroom. Maybe there were ghosts...

I did have significant problems with my ($9.95) internet on the second day of my stay. The Hyatt vendor couldn't fix it despite his seemingly sincere efforts. My company's help desk couldn't either. The next day, the problems had disappeared. Should I have been worried about seeing Jack NIcholsen wielding an ax?

I assume (hope) the hotel was full, and this was a "last sell" room. Otherwise, why did you do this to me? Why would you do this to anyone?

Room Tip: Avoid the "13's."
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We took advantage of the romance package & it was wonderful! The staff is so friendly, helpful & accommodating! The hotel is gorgeous! The rooms were immaculate! We ate at 1890...breakfast buffet (weekends) is amazing! We went back the last night of our stay for the ribeye (even We are having a blast heading to legacy! Hope you guys have fun too! Praying you get along & enjoy each others company! Love you all the options in downtown cleveland) because it was perfect! This place is a
Historical gem!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trstme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#1 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Property: Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Address: 420 Superior Ave E, Cleveland, OH 44114-1208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#15 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#19 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown in an elegant National Historic Landmark Building, the Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. A total of 293 guest rooms including 4 suites. 14,000 square feet of divisible meeting space including 4 executive boardrooms, 5 banquet rooms, and 4800 square feet of prefunction space. 1890, a contemporary restaruant and lounge, seats 210 open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Fully equipped Fitness Center. The Hyatt Regency Cleveland is within walking distance of the Cleveland Convention Center, Progressive Field, Browns Stadium, Quicken Loans Arena, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, East 4th Street entertainment district, Cleveland Clinic, The Warehouse District and Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Hotel Cleveland
Hyatt Cleveland
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing