We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have even been to. It is built upon the first indoor market in US. The service at the hotel was top notch. When staying in downtown Cleveland this hotel is a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    459
    214
    110
    46
See reviews for
262
380
60
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I cannot recommend the Hyatt @ the Arcade enough. Travelling with children has it moments and when we checked in we were having one. My daughter had just been stung by a bee (@ the aquarium) and we needed to check in, find a drug store, and tend to her all at the same time. Suprina at the front desk understood that we were overwhelmed. She asked if we minded a wedding in the arcade on Saturday, I was unsure and she quickly was able to move us to a room on the 8th floor. Our room was clean, well air-conditioned, and quiet. After 2 hours of ice an pain relievers we were able to make it out for a quick bite to eat. When we returned, Suprina sent up a sweet note with milk and chocolate chip cookies to help make the start of our trip better. Better indeed! The bell hop helped my husband find the drug store. The arcade is beautiful. The hotel is in a great location, near the Rock and Roll, Science Museum, family friendly restaurants, and 10 minute drive to the zoo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

It has been a year since I stayed there, so my review is not up to date, but I'll be in Cleveland one day towards the end of August so I am thinking of staying there again. Now downtown Cleveland is not everyone's idea of a vacation destination, but it once was a great city, and the Arcade in which this hotel is located is one of the great relics of the city's golden age. The Hyatt compny deserves much credit for putting a first-rate hotel there. Also it is just steps away from a great restaurant district on E 4th Street, and there is much of interest to see within a few blocks, like the Civil War memorial, the public library and the Terminal building. The local business environment is a bit dispiriting, with many vacant premises when I was there, but there remain magnificent buildings from an earlier age. I felt no apprehension walking around in the evening.

The service at the hotel was first rate and the quality of accomodation was high for the price I paid (probably via some deal on Priceline). I recall having a wonderful two days in Cleveland when I stayed there and I would do so again.

Stayed September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 32nd anniversary with a pub crawl on Cleveland's vibrant E. Fourth Street followed by a show at the Allen Theater. The Hyatt is a perfect location for this. We walked across the street and were at E. 4th. Playhouse Square was a five minute walk.
Our room was clean and comfortable.
Having been at the Hyatt at the Arcade numerous times, including our daughter's wedding, we have never gotten tired of the ambience of the Arcade. It is an architectural gem that is a must see for any out of town visitor to Cleveland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with arcad view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I come to Cleveland every year for the Annual "Drum Fantasy Camp" which is held at the Hyatt so it makes sense to stay there. Every year I get a bad room usually near an elevator or next to a large AC compressor. Usually I get a deal on the room because I get a package deal. This year I decided to pay the rack rate in hopes that I would get a better room. I did get a quieter room facing the front of the hotel, but this was a smoking room that probably has never been renovated. The room stinks badly, the carpet sucks, and the wallpaper is in bad shape. The beds where not too bad. I got nothing I asked for- i.e... High floor, king bed.
When I asked the person at the front desk if they could change the room all I got was a well-rehearsed routine stating, "The hotel is full" "were sorry". Sorry. I paid $250 a night for a room that I would expect at Motel 6. All I can do is post my review here, tell all of my friends and never stay at any Hyatt around the country. They all must be like this. Also next year I'll just stay at the Marriott. I've stayed there before and their standards seem to be higher to the point you actually feel you’re getting what you’re paying for. If you’re reading this and think it’s harsh, read a few more reviews and book yourself a room. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The good: The Cleveland Arcade is a beautiful historic building. The location of the hotel is perfect - close to all kinds of restaurants and bars on 4th Street, easy walking distance to the casino and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Our room was spacious, clean and the beds were comfortable.

The bad: When we checked in, the room we were initially given keys for was already occupied. No one was actually in the room at the time but the bathroom was full of someone else's cosmetics and there were clothes, bags and shoes in the room. I had to go back to the front desk to get keys to a new room but this was obviously disturbing. If we were given keys for a room already occupied by someone else, it stands to reason strangers could be given keys to our room. Makes you think twice about what you leave in your room unattended.

I was also unimpressed with the hotel's wireless. It costs $10 a day and during my stay, the access site wasn't working so I had to call a support desk, be put on hold and wait (and wait and wait) to get an access code. It's inconvenient and considering you have to pay for wireless, they could at least make signing on easy.

The noisy: On Saturday night, there was very loud yelling and shrieking and singing on our floor, all after 10pm. I understand the hotel can't be held responsible for noisy guests. However, I called the front desk twice to request that security be sent up to address the situation. After two calls, the noise still continued. That suggests more effective security is required - I shouldn't have to make more than one call to get some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband & I booked a room for a night on the town to celebrate our anniversary & the Hyatt seemed like the perfect central location! Granted our stay was for only one night but in that entire time I saw a total of 2 employees, the gentleman who parked our car & the check-in clerk! I could understand if we were there during a January blizzard but it was a Sat night in the middle of summer! That coupled with the deserted & closed up Arcade just outside our door, the whole ambiance was just a little creepy!

Our room was clean but nothing to write home about! Everything was in working order and the bed was perfectly comfortable! There is no atrium when you enter the building & you actually have to go up to the 2nd floor to check in! The hotel just lacks that warm & welcoming charm that you would expect when staying in the middle of an exciting city! So if you're looking for privacy, this is the place and you can't beat the location for Cleveland's nightlife! Just don't expect the red carpet to be rolled out for you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendySzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Property: Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Address: 420 Superior Ave E, Cleveland, OH 44114-1208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#15 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#19 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown in an elegant National Historic Landmark Building, the Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. A total of 293 guest rooms including 4 suites. 14,000 square feet of divisible meeting space including 4 executive boardrooms, 5 banquet rooms, and 4800 square feet of prefunction space. 1890, a contemporary restaruant and lounge, seats 210 open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Fully equipped Fitness Center. The Hyatt Regency Cleveland is within walking distance of the Cleveland Convention Center, Progressive Field, Browns Stadium, Quicken Loans Arena, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, East 4th Street entertainment district, Cleveland Clinic, The Warehouse District and Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Hotel Cleveland
Hyatt Cleveland
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing