We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The building it is housed in is cool and historical, apart from that the hotel itself is in desperate need of refurbishment.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Cool building from the 1800s really cool atrium with a neat ceiling. Shops on the ground floor with several restaurants. I picked this site via priceline as I was traveling for fun vs business. It is rated 4 stars by some sites and people. The rooms themselves need a refurbishment asap. Floors are dirty. Carpets stained. Walls dented and in need of paint. Grout in the shower mildew. These are simple things to resolve that would not break the bank to help get a positive review. I only had a 2 night stop over in Cleveland so I didn't make alternate arrangements. I would not stay here again as there are other superior hotels within walking distance. If you are in Cleveland do drop by and check out the building though. It is really quite cool.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riqstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCleveland, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate it as it allows us the opportunity to enhance our guest experience. We sincerely apologize you did not find the guestroom you stayed in to your satisfaction. It's certainly unacceptable and not reflective of our high standards. We will make sure to review the room you stayed in and address the cleanliness concerns you brought up. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,392 - 1,398 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

If the Arcade building doesn't attract you, stay somewhere else. It's really more of an adult/business traveler hotel. No pool for the kids. No coffee in the morning. My room was poorly lit - not enough light to work. Needs updating and renovations. Great shower head, water pressure, and bed. The building is amazing though and, along with the staff, made the stay enjoyable. The location also could not be better.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCleveland, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate it as it allows us the opportunity to continuously enhance our guest experience. We will certainly take your comments into consideration as we look at opportunities to make improvements to our facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed here to take my father to an Indians game. We received a nice rate on the hotel and overall were pleased but there were a couple of small hiccups.

Location: Downtown Cleveland a few blocks off Public Square. The property is the old Cleveland Arcade which was converted to a hotel. You have an easy walk here to most of the sights in Cleveland. The dining options near the hotel late in the evening seemed to be a bit sparse. A pub nearby appeared to be closed and the hotel staff recommended a pizza place down the street. The hotel only offers valet parking which is not cheap. But the self-park garages do not have a direct entrance to the hotel so it can be difficult if you have a lot of luggage to park yourself and then walk to the hotel.

Check-in: Everything went very well. The staff informed us that there would be a wedding party in the hotel and if we were concerned about noise, they would be happy to put us in the tower rooms. Unfortunately, my dad needs a wheelchair accessible room and the only one available was in the main atrium where the wedding would be. So we decided to suck it up.

Room: Our rooms were quite large and comfortable overall. The interior of the hotel maintains a number of touches from the old arcade which is actually very fun. The furnishings were all very attractive and we really enjoyed the Hyatt Grand Bed.

The channels on the TV were pretty limited. Although we were going to the Indians game the next day, we wanted to try and watch that evening's game on TV. But the hotel doesn't carry the Indians network. And the radio may be one of the worst as you couldn't pick up WTAM. However, that is likely a "me-specific "concern that others may find to be rather trivial.

Noise from the atrium does bleed into the rooms to a large extent. The wedding party that evening was really blasting the music and it was pretty loud. However, the staff did inform us that the party would end at 11:00 PM and it did end right at that time. If I had planned ahead, I probably could have had a wheelchair room in the tower, rather than in the middle of the wedding. So if I have any advice, call ahead when you book to make sure there you get a different room if an even is planned for the Arcade.

Service: All of the staff were very pleasant. When I interacted with them, they were all apologetic about the noise from the wedding party.

Overall, the hotel is very nice and I would stay there again (after checking to make sure they aren't having a wedding reception). The location is great and the building has a lot of character. You get the service and room that you would expect from a Hyatt and if the price is right, you can get a pretty good deal as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower room if there is an event in the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MR_PHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCleveland, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate it as it allows us to continuously enhance our guest experience. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience due to the noise and our inability to place you in a wheelchair accessible tower room. We hope to have you stay with us in the future and will ensure to place you in a quiet room. Thank you for your positive comments in regards to our location, sleeping rooms, and customer service. We truly appreciate it and will continue to work on improving all facets of our operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is a very cool hotel. The rooms are in what look to be remodeled storefronts in the Arcade building. My room was very spacious, and I heard that all of the rooms are a little bit different in layout and not cookie-cutter square rooms.

From this location, it is an easy walk to many good restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onlyaymie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCleveland, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Thank you for your wondeful feedback. We truly appreciate it as it allows us to continuously enhance our guest experience. We do indeed have over 50 different configurations to our guestrooms which as you mentioned is different from other properties. Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel on your next visit to Cleveland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Truly a wonderful evening! For those of you who prefer an experience that is not the same old, same old hotel, you should give the Hyatt Regency a try. The Arcade was built in the 1890's, but has been beautifully refurbished not so long ago. No doubt, it has that "old" construction to it. It is, however, very majestic. We love the open air feel to the Arcade. This is the second time we have stayed here, and each time has been very satisfying. The rooms are marvelously updated with large windows and high ceilings (given the layout they had to work with), and very clean. Understand though, each view outside the window can't always be scenic, as this wasn't originally slated as a hotel. The beds are very comfortable with luxurious bedding.

The location is great, with all the award winning restaurants directly across the street (E.4th). You will have a large variety of entertainment to choose from. We only ate breakfast at the Hyatt restaurant (1890), but was very pleased. They offered a grand buffet with fresh fruit and delicious breakfast staples.

We will, no doubt, be staying here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novemberwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCleveland, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We trully appreciate it as it allows us to continuously enhance our guest experience. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our beautiful building, rooms, location, and your meal in our 1890 restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cleveland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I was here for a couple of nights and was quite pleased. The highlight of my trip was when I had to get my drunk co-worker back to his room. Security came and helped me walk him to his room and made sure everything was fine.
The rooms in the older part of the hotel are small and mine had a view of a cinder block wall, but the newer addition had newer and nicer rooms. My room had one of those old windows over the door and a mail slot in the door.
If you exit the door opposite of the front desk you are right on 4th street with the new restaurants including House of Blues and Lola.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank setcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCleveland, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate it as it allows us the opportunity to continuously enhance our guest experience. We are glad to hear you had a good experience with our security department. We will be certain to recognize the individual who assisted you. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt on your next visit to Cleveland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This is a standard chain hotel in a downtown setting. The price seemed average for the location, and the amenities were sparse, as one would expect with urban lodgings. I may stay there again, but I'll likely check out the competition first.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCleveland, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Thank you for your feedback and comments. We truly appreciate it as it allows us to enhance our guest experience. We will certainly take your comments into consideration as we evaluate the amenities and services we offer to our guests. Please don't hesitate to let us know if there are specific amenities and services we are lacking. We would love to hear your suggestions on improving our overall guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#4 of 38 in Cleveland
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Address: 420 Superior Ave E, Cleveland, OH 44114-1208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#15 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#19 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: $141 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown in a Historic Landmark Building, Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade offers 293 newly renovated guestrooms. The hotel is walking distance from the Cleveland Convention Center, Progressive Field, FirstEnergy Stadium, Quicken Loans Arena, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the East 4th Street entertainment district, Playhouse Square, and the Jack Casino. It features 14,000 square feet of divisible meeting space, including four executive boardrooms, five banquet rooms, and 4,800 square feet of prefunction space. 1890 Restaurant and Lounge, overlooking the historic Arcade, offer breakfast, lunch and dinner in a cozy atmosphere. Guests will also enjoy the fully equipped 24-hour fitness center and luxury spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Hotel Cleveland
Hyatt Cleveland
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing