We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff need manners and training.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Staff need manners and training.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

We obtained a great price from Priceline for an overnight stay en route through Cleveland. The hotel was lovely, but the staff weren't quite so impressive. The scruffy, gum-chewing valet with unnoticeable customer-service skills inspired us to park our own vehicle; the check-in clerk who neglected to provide a proper parking pass caused wasted time and unnecessary annoyance; the guest services person we contacted for directions to a particular fine dining establishment told us the restaurant was closed for the evening but offered the *phone number* and then neglected to suggest any another options for a late-night meal. The final insult came the next morning when we attempted to avoid any further human contact by using the in-room checkout system; the system was offline, which we mentioned to the overly punctilious check-out individual who stupidly advised that ever happened we were welcome to check-out at the front desk - well, duh. To say the least, we were disappointed with the service all around. Our view was exceptional, but only because we've never had such a clear sightline to such large air conditioning units before. This certainly wasn't our Marriott "home away from home".

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phrzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    332
    85
    15
    13
See reviews for
201
256
38
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

My wife and I stayed the weekend in Cleveland. We arrived late in the day and handed over our vehicle to the valet service ($20 per day). We quickly found that street parking downtown was free on the weekends and there were many spaces available. Check-in was quick and friendly. The Marriott is very centrally located (near the Warehouse District, Rock N' Roll Museum, Brown's stadium, Progressive Field, etc.). This was great for us, since we could easily walk to sites, pubs, restaurants, etc.. We were hassled by a few homeless folks (not too aggressive), but the area seemed to be very safe to us even late in the evening.

The room was very good. Great view of Lake Erie, Flat screen TV, king bed, desk, one comfy chair, good lighting, hairdryer, safe for valuables, good sized desk. Tub & toilet were separated from the sink - nice feature. Toilet filled very slowly, but this wasn't a big problem. The room was very clean. We didn't hear any noise from adjacent rooms. The bed had excellent reading lights that could spot illuminate with minimal reflections to bother your sleeping partner.

The fitness room was good with a number of machines, weights, towels, head-sets for the machines, water cooler, a hot tub, and a small indoor pool. Very good.

We didn't use the hotel restaurant or bar (plenty of places are available within a 10 minute walk).

The internet service was expensive at $12.95 per day - a huge annoyance to me as a business traveler. Go to a couple of the local coffee places for free wifi. The "non-valet" parking is also $20, but there are local lots are cheaper.

Check out was smooth, they tried to tag us with parking for our entire stay, but quickly removed the charges when I corrected them. Staff was warm, friendly, and courteous. Concierge Dick was extremely helpful to us for finding eating places.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pabl01neum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

We spent this weekend at the Cleveland Marriott and would highly recommend it to anyone coming into the area. I had read other reviews that the check in line was long and that the hotel was not in a good neighborhood, so I was a bit nervous before arriving.

The checkin was easy. We arrived around 1pm and were immediately given a room. We happen to be here on a weekend prior to The Browns season starting and the Indians are out of town. This is a major hotel for both of those stadiums for players, news and fans. I would plan accordingly and expect it to take a few minutes if you are checking in when one or both teams is in town. I will say that there were at least 3 or 4 people working check in the whole time we were there though, so I can't imagine why things wouldn't keep moving.

The room we were assigned was great-22nd floor witha lovely view of Lake Erie, Browns Stadium and the Rock N Roll Hall of Fame. Comfy king bed and plenty of space to not feel cramped. There were a few oddities with the room-none that were deal breakers for me-but perhaps for others so I shall mention them-There was no real dresser. 2 little drawers is it. If you are staying more than a couple of days or with more than 2 people you may want that. No good towel bar in the bathroom and a lot of dead space next to the toilet-just odd. They could put a plant there or something-again not a big deal for me though.

We did not use room service, but I am sure it is the same here as every other Marriott. All staff we encountered was helpful and friendly. The concierge desk gave us a great pick for Breakfast (Water Street Grill) as well as maps so we could walk to destinations. You can buy your Rock Hall of Fame tickets right in the gift shop which saves on standing in line. You can also buy beers brewed in local breweries there, such as Great Lakes which is a nice touch.

The neighborhood we were in was great, I never once felt unsafe and we walked most everyplace most of the time here. The Marriott is kind of in the middle of a lot of great things that are each no more than 10 minutes walk-Browns Stadium, Rock Hall of Fame, Science Musuem, Warehouse District w/great restaurants and 4th Street also with amazing restaurants.

We highly recommend these 2 restaurants to dine at in Cleveland-Lola owned by Chef Michael Symon (Food Network Iron Chef) on 4th Street was among the best, and Great Lakes Brewery-need a car or taxi but well worth it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdsansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

Hotel is in a great location for walking to the waterfront for boat tour, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Science Center. In town for a wedding, stayed for 3 nights. Clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Saw some of the Detriot Tigers. Very comfortable lobby with Internet terminal.

(side note - On the other side of the building's lobby check out the gorgeous bank interior).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spanish_af
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Got a great price through Priceline.
Ate at the Metropolitan Grill on 6th St W - enjoyed a very nice meal.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alliefromottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

This Marriott is really beautiful. The lobby is very inviting and we actually enjoyed dinner in the bar one evening and were very impressed with the service and the employees' great personalities.

The rooms are very comfortable, but felt small for a family with 2 teenage boys.
Location is perfect for a day of visiting downtown spots.
Breakfast buffet was included with our hotel package and that was wonderful.
One evening we bought a bento box of sushi from the gift shop and it was a perfect snack and very fresh - who knew???

Used the hotel pool, which is very shallow, but pleasant to visit nonetheless. The gym is really top quality as well and several people were busy working out.

All in all this was a great stay and I was pleased with everything!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2corgismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

The staff was extremely helpful. The room was clean and recently decorated in a very nice, modern decor. Location was excellent. We were able to walk to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisjschs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.4 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center

Property: Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
Address: 127 Public Sq, Cleveland, OH 44114-1217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience ultimate style and sophistication at the revitalized Cleveland Marriott Downtown, an urban retreat. Offering stunning views of Lake Erie and the city skyline, this 25-story hotel boasts 400 rooms with sleek furnishings and upgraded bathrooms fresh off a $10 million renovation. Explore exciting attractions within a short walk of this metropolitan hotel, such as the new Horseshoe Casino, Quicken Loans Arena, Browns Stadium, Progressive Field and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Take advantage of our renowned hotel staff for unmatched hospitality and deep local knowledge for an authentic Cleveland experience. For casual dining, relax among warm wood styling at Jake’s sports lounge or taste contemporary American cuisine at David’s Restaurant, conveniently situated within our hotel. Rediscover comfort at the refreshingly-modern Cleveland Marriott Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cleveland Downtown At Key Hotel Cleveland
Key Center
Cleveland Marriott Downtown At Key Center Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing