We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great room, Boring lobby areas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center to your Saves list
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free for breakfast?
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portage, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great room, Boring lobby areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The room at the Marriott was very nice and comfortable. The room was spacious and modern. I enjoyed it, I ordered room service and it was prompt and professional and the food was good. Unfortunately, the lobby area was very quiet, with no activity. It made the stay seem boring and uneventful.

Room Tip: I enjoyed a higher floor, to see the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ERetreats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    299
    81
    13
    12
See reviews for
185
235
36
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, WV
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had made our reservations months in advance for this trip. When we checked in the woman at the counter seemed as though she had no clue what she was doing. She tried to tell me that someone else checked in under my name the day prior. Then said we only had one room instead of two, then that we were only staying once night instead of three. We showed her our confirmation info and she eventually got it right.

Overall the hotel was fine. Location was key. But, the rooms were on the small side and my father in law had to call 3 times to get their rooms cleaned on the second day and we never got our safe to work. The cleaning staff was very loud and you could hear the conversations word for word while in a neighboring room. Not the best place if you want to sleep in, walls seemed very thin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlymu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here on a weekend business. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The hotel is in a great location. Since downtown Cleveland is so small...it's in walking distance to everything. There is a decent mall and the casino at Tower City and plenty of restaurants...again within walking distance. The concierge will make reservations for you. The Rock and Roll HOF is right there too.

There is a decent restaurant and gift shop (with some snacks) in the hotel. The prices are decent as far as hotels go. There is a good breakfast buffet as well.

The rooms are okay. The beds are decent...but the pillows weren't very comfortable at all. I do like how the sink is out of the bathroom. Let's your significant other shower/use the toilet while you brush your teeth, shave, etc. But the sink/bathroom part of the room is kind of cramped.

There is a workout room...but it's not that good. There's a small pool too.

The best deal of the hotel is actually the parking (at least during the weekend). It was only $8 for just about 24 hours. And that time also included the Browns game. So it's not a bad place to park and walk to the stadium for a game.

Not a bad place to stay. But I've certainly stayed in better...and worse.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeyboy239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Awesome hotel - great location. We were able to walk everywhere. Close to Theater District, Warehouse District and Horseshoe Casino. Staff was very friendly. Only problem we had is that we didn't get our room until 5:30, however it was a free room from the casino so we couldn't really complain. Had great dinner at Blue Point Grille and awesome breakfast at Karl's Inn of the Barristers by the stadium.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for an evening in early November as comp through Total Rewards. Very nice hotel. Beautiful and clean. Room was spotless, and the beds were very comfortable. Our only issue, but its a rather large one, was that we put our breakfast order on the door to be delivered at 9:30 a.m. Sadly, the order never came until 10:55 a.m., despite a few calls in to the customer service person set up. We had to be on the road by 10:30 a.m., but waited a little longer. As we were walking out of the room to leave, the breakfast showed up. Disappointing. Other than that, we really liked it. Would stay again....

Room Tip: Maybe call in the morning to make sure they received your breakfast order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iwcpromoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco/Bay Area
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I recently returned from a conference in Cleveland OH where I stayed at the Marriott Key Center. The staff was very friendly, helpful and professional.
The hotel lobby, conference facilities and layout of the hotel is first rate. I had a room facing the public square which was a good view.
The rooms are well appointed and thought given to the traveler. For example, lots of light, plugs for electronics, comfortable beds, just a very comfortable stay.
The doorman was very helpful in getting transportation and the cab service was very helpful in giving us information to contact them for returning from our destinations at the Rock and Roll Museum. I would return to this hotel the next time I am in Cleveland, OH.

Room Tip: Room facing the public was good for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lccalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
212 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked 3 nights here to visit Cleveland & especially the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame. We found Cleveland to be one of the friendliest cities we have EVER visited & while it is not a big city for shoppers it does have things to see & do. After all, we spent the WHOLE day at the R&R Museum & absolutely loved it!
The hotel is in a convenient location & the front desk clerk was very friendly & helpful. The lobby was light, airy & classy with a marble floor.
The room was very spacious with a nice smell on arrival. Ours was on the 15th floor with no outside noise & we slept well. The bathroom was large & nicely tiled. The decor throughout was good with a guitar theme to the pictures. Very fitting.
There was a safe & all the usual fittings & unusually a quiet a/c unit. Always a plus!
We continually ask that bedding & towels aren't replaced every day & despite the usual 'green' message card, they were. That, together with no recycling bin, really bugs me!!
That would be my only moan & some people wouldn't even find that an issue at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
#16 of 38 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 stars 973 reviews
0.4 mi away
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center

Property: Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
Address: 127 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44114
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#1 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience ultimate style and sophistication at the revitalized Cleveland Marriott Downtown, an urban retreat. Offering stunning views of Lake Erie and the city skyline, this 25-story hotel boasts 400 rooms with sleek furnishings and upgraded bathrooms fresh off a $10 million renovation. Explore exciting attractions within a short walk of this metropolitan hotel, such as the new Horseshoe Casino, Quicken Loans Arena, Browns Stadium, Progressive Field and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Take advantage of our renowned hotel staff for unmatched hospitality and deep local knowledge for an authentic Cleveland experience. For casual dining, relax among warm wood styling at Jake’s sports lounge or taste contemporary American cuisine at David’s Restaurant, conveniently situated within our hotel. Rediscover comfort at the refreshingly-modern Cleveland Marriott Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cleveland Downtown At Key Hotel Cleveland
Key Center
Cleveland Marriott Downtown At Key Center Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing