We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent meal”
Review of le Petit triangle

le Petit triangle
Ranked #45 of 1,854 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The food in the restaurant is excellent, loved everything I ordered. We went for a dinner with our friends, made a reservation and enjoyed the restaurant atmosphere. The menu is rich, apart from it there are daily specialties. We had the Soup Du Jour which was a vegetable soup with seafood, beef bourguignon, pork shoulder and Chocolate Lovers Crepes for a dessert. We also tried ratatouille. Everything was super tasty, fresh and prepared with products from farmers market. The space is limited so make sure you make a reservation, as we saw people not getting in because the restaurant was busy. The service was good and at the end we were pleasantly surprised when a check came - only 63$ for the two of us. Great value for the quality food that you're getting. Will be back to try the onion soup.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Owieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    36
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rich French toast and experience”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Went for brunch and had an excellent meal. The French toast (pain perdu) was a decadent treat of a meal--we split both the challah and raisin bread/chevre varieties and were not disappointed. Space can be tight, but the brief wait for our little table was worth it. Bravo!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vonkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“A little Paris in Cleveland suburb.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We held a small surprise birthday party at this little restaurant in January. The atmosphere is pure Parisian bistro and the food is prepared to match. We all enjoyed the delicious cheese plate, smoked trout and escargot appetizers. The enormous savory crepes were enjoyed by several in our party but the cassoulet was a little bland and uninteresting. The creme brûlée was heaven. We would like to return sometime when the weather is better and sit outside with a cafe au lait and a sweet crepe for dessert.
Some french music in the background and a server that speaks enough Francaise to pronounce the menu items would add much to the charm of this already quaint eatery.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Taco42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fine Dining Experience”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went for dinner, enjoyed the casualness of the establishment, loved the menu. We were 4, made a reservation, were seated in the main area next to the bar, though the more elegant adjoining dining room remained vacant all night ?? Our service was initially attentive, although became strangely lax as the evening wore on, although the restaurant never hosted more than 2 parties at any time. We ordered several items, including the soup ( pureed potato/leak --a bit bland) leak salad w/salmon (very nice), Beef Bourguignon (tasty veggies, good flavor) salad Nicoise (delish) , cassoulet (nice taste, lean on the advertised meats), the salmon (fine) , a bottle of Rhone wine, buckwheat crepes and the chocolate dessert souffle. All the meals were fine, but the dishes came from the kitchen so unnecessarily searingly hot, they couldn't be eaten (or touched) until they'd sat on the table at least 10 minutes. This was rather inconvenient, as the food smelled yummy, but touching it was painful....anyway, that passed and except for the souffle falling so we had to wait 1/2 hour for dessert and the waiter dropping a wine glass inches from our table, the meal wasn't absolutely awful. And we were in good company, so that helped. Actually, it was very relaxed and we had a fine time.

For the price, the value was fine, and we really appreciated the low-key atmosphere. The wine selection was comprehensive and reasonable. We'll probably go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KASCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK, but not memorable”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Overall the experience we had at le Petit was ok, but would not bring me back. The bruschetta was delicious, and has a unique style of its own. The food was ok, although portion size was hit or miss. Our pork entree portion was quite small, while the chicken entree we received was rather large. A third, the Trout salad portion was an average size. Unfortunately, we only had the menu to go by as our server neglected to tell us about the specials available that day, and bread was not served until the entrees were half eaten. Also, if you plan on lingering over drinks and coffee before and after your meal, be sure to tell them. Only 90 minutes is allotted for your reservation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le Petit triangle also viewed

 

Been to le Petit triangle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing