We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We picked J Palen House B&B because of the TripAdvisor reviews and made a great choice. We stayed in the Webster Room which was very comfortable for the two of us, with a nice little balcony overlooking the tree-lined street. I'm very big on great bathrooms and this one had a jetted spa tub and separate walk-in shower with a big soaker shower head. The king bed was very comfortable. Scott is a great host - helpful but unintrusive. The breakfasts always included a muffin and fresh fruit and a delicious entree. The great thing about a B&B is visiting with the other guests over breakfast and the guests at J Palen house were no exception. The location was convenient to downtown and the Cleveland attractions. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BroadwayBabeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 214 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed three nights at this wonderful B & B. We were greeted by Scott, the nicest young man, who is the inn keeper. Scott helped us bring our luggage to our room and gave us an introduction to the area. The house gave a feeling of being a home. We had a bedroom, a sitting area, and a large bath. The beds were comfortable and the linens were of high quality. The breakfasts were good and filling. It was nice to have a variety of fresh fruits each morning.
Scott let us know about a 10% discount we could received from local restaurants. The first night we ate at Cento's. I had Egg Pappardelle, which was delicious. The second night we ate and drink beer at the Great Lakes Brewing Co., this was also a good choice. The last night was a highlight because we decided to eat Mexican at Momocho. We love Diners, Dives, and Drive-ins and stamped on the wall was Guy Fieri's face and his autograph. The show was tapped at this restaurant. Momocho's has half price traditional margaritas and taquitos on Wed-Friday, between the hours of 4-6:30 pm. All of these places and more were a short walking distance from the B&B. If you enjoy staying at B & B's then this one should be on your list.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

The location is great - it is in a very picturesque part of Cleveland with a ton of restaurants and near the fresh food market. If you have to get downtown, it would be about a half an hour walk (or under $10 for a cab). I would highly recommend as opposed to staying in a hotel downtown. In addition, the service was excellent, and the rooms had better amenities than any hotel I have ever stayed in. The breakfast provided was plentiful and delicious!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJMCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

This Bed and Breakfast was just wonderful. Scott was just great, and his breakfasts are top of the line! The service and amenities were wonderful. The jacuzzi tub was to die for, and so were the amazing sheets on the bed. Stay here for a romantic weekend getaway. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank please304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

What a wonderful place! My husband and I celebrated our 2nd anniversary here and we couldn't have picked a better plave. It was a great room and the location was excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank frimdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We had a great one-night stay in this beautiful old house. The innkeeper/host was very personable; he gave us a tour of the house and pointed out different sites in the neighborhood. Our room was very comfortable (luxurious sheets and terrific bathroom with Jacuzzi). Breakfast was super delicious. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krb11882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

My wife and I had planned on staying at the J. Palen House during a trip to Cleveland in the middle of the week in January. Within a couple of days of our planned arrival date, our daughter had a baby in Washington, DC, leading a two week postponement of the Cleveland trip. Unfortunately, while in Washington, I had a heart attack and spent several days in hospital and was told by the doctor to delay further the Cleveland trip. All of this was relayed to Scott West with the understanding that we would visit later in the year. No mention was made of that we would forfeit one night's lodging. Well, if you make reservations, don't have a grandchild born or a heart attack within a week of the planned stay. You will lose your deposit and be informed that you are "simply trying not to pay for the obligation of arrival".

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
8  Thank PSU_traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
1.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#12 of 38 in Cleveland
681 reviews
4.7 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
1.5 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2708 Bridge Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113-3067
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price Range: $149 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, Sophistication and Location!Northeast Ohio's only luxury Urban Inn within a mile of all downtown activities, Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame,Horseshoe Casino, Aquarium Playhouse Square Theaters, All sport venues and 10 minutes from Cleveland Clinic, Walk to 28 of Cleveland's most interesting restaurants, breweries and the West Side Market! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing