We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Exceptional Experience - we loved J. Palen House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Experience - we loved J. Palen House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My partner and I had a wonderful experience staying at the J. Palen House and we are already looking forward to a return visit! I highly recommend this exceptional B&B. Our room was beautifully appointed and comfortable, with both the charm of its 19th Century origins as well as all the amenities one hopes to find in modern accommodations. A picture is worth 1000 words – and the expectations set by their website are perfectly realized when you arrive.

The location is perfect - within a couple blocks of all the attractions of the area, including the West Side Market, Great Lakes Brewery and many other shops and restaurants.

Finally, we had wonderful hosts. Our acquaintance began with a cheerful and welcoming greeting from Diane, followed by a quick but thorough tour of our accommodations, and lots of great information about the area - both its history and current attractions. Breakfast was bountiful and delicious, all homemade with fresh and local ingredients, in a wonderfully elegant and relaxed atmosphere, encouraging warm conversation with our mutual guests as well as Diane. It is obvious that Diane and Jeff love what they do - and they do a terrific job! Don't miss this one!!

J Rochel & A Spaulding

Room Tip: The website is very thorough - and accurate - in its depictions of the roooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    21
    4
    1
    6
See reviews for
15
145
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here march 2013 with my sister and adult nephew. Was perfect location. Since we booked into the Kabat house we were able to invite family over to visit as we had our own little house.
We never did meet the inn keepers nor go to the main house.
Everything we needed was right there.
Will definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: Wind chimes kept me awake, but was no biggie. We stayed at the self contained Kabot house. Was lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitaOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My partner, myself and my best friend recently stayed two nights in the "Cottage" of the J. Palen House on a family visit out West. The location in Ohio City was great in relation to our main purpose for the Cleveland stay, i.e. a visit to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. The two bedroom cottage was beautifully appointed and well maintained. The neighborhood was charming with the exception of a few fixer uppers that will hopefully be turned around some day soon. Location was great for driving to points of interest including two really fun and friendly gay bars within a short drive. Diane was a top-notch Host, full of recommendations and area insight. The breakfast each day was yummy - only complaint is I wished for seconds (her baked goods are to die for!). We usually like to stay in and support gay-owned establishments, but since we were unable to book where I had first researched, I can unequivocally say I am thoroughly pleased with our choice of the J. Palen House; Straight, Gay or otherwise clueless, you won't be disappointed in your stay here!

Room Tip: If you are looking for "extra privacy" and spaciousness, consider booking the Cottage or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

No worries here - excellent convenience and service. As always, we met interesting people at breakfast - so much better than a commercial hotel. Stay here, by all means. Fairly close to interesting restaurants - we liked Lolita's, but might not go there next simply because we found it a little hard to converse. What the reviewers call "energetic."

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UA_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked a room in J Palen House because we couldn't get into the hotel we wanted. As it turned out, this was a good choice for us, and we enjoyed our stay. This bed and breakfast is located in Ohio City, a bustling urban neighborhood south of downtown Cleveland. Parking is on the street adjacent to the B & B, and it's free, but parking spaces fill up as the day goes on, so we parked the car and walked to restaurants in the neighborhood or found other transportation to more distant locations like the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. We stayed in the Webster Room, with a comfortable king-size bed and a walk-out balcony, which we didn't use because it had no view. Others, however, may enjoy sitting out there to read or relax. The communal breakfasts, served promptly at 9 a.m., were delicious and filling and usually consisted of quiche, fruit and sometimes turkey sausage, but the innkeeper will accommodate people with food allergies and other needs. The neighborhood has a surprisingly large choice of restaurants, starting with Light Bistro right across the street, with a tasty selection of traditional and American tapas. We also enjoyed Flying Fig, a small farm-to-table restaurant, and Bar Cento, which offers a nice selection of individual pizzas with fresh ingredients. The innkeeper and staff were friendly and helpful, and we were very comfortable throughout our stay. If we return to Cleveland, we'll definitely stay at J Palen House again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Two days before our planned stay on a Tuesday night, my husband, my toddler, and I all came down with the stomach flu. I emailed the innkeeper and was informed that I would lose my deposit (the full cost of a night's stay) unless I rescheduled within 60 days.
Because I was not able to stay another weeknight in Cleveland within that time frame, I called to ask about availability for Saturday nights. The innkeeper informed me that weekend stays require 2 nights, which is not possible for us right now.
As the innkeeper very unsympathetically explained on the phone, I understand that losing my deposit is consistent with their policy. While providing some flexibility may cause them to lose revenue in the short term, sticking to their strict policy is terrible customer service and not competitive in the industry. It’s a short-sighted decision that will cost them this customer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene M, Owner at J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Your two day advance cancellation fell within our cancellation policy. In the hotel industry Tuesday is the busiest night of the business week and the Inn was booked to capactiy. We turned down guests for rooms prior to your cancellation. As is our policy, if we are able to resell your room, you will only be responsible for the administration fee. We are aware that plans change and as a courtesy for your medical emergency we offered you the ability to rebook your room within 60 days of your original arrival date. As an industry policy, this is a generous and customer friendly consideration. We state our cancellation policy at the time of booking and encourage guests to consider travel insurance to cover just such events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a terrific place to stay in an old neighborhood of yesteryear. It was like walking back to a simpler time where people neighbored, walked their dogs, and spent time together at local pubs. It was a restful respite from the intensity of life with good food, excellent lodging, and great fellowship.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
1.5 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
1.5 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast

Property: J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2708 Bridge Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113-3067
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, Sophistication and Location!Northeast Ohio's only luxury Urban Inn within a mile of all downtown activities, Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame,Horseshoe Casino, Aquarium Playhouse Square Theaters, All sport venues and 10 minutes from Cleveland Clinic, Walk to 28 of Cleveland's most interesting restaurants, breweries and the West Side Market! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing