We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable B & B ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Most comfortable B & B ever”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A co-worker and I on an overnight trip to Cleveland each had a beautiful room and stay at the J. Palen House in the "Ohio City" section of Cleveland. The location was selected for its proximity to our business, however the B & B is within a 3 minute walk to the Westside Market, and a great selection of restaurants including the Great Lakes Brewery and Restaurant. We were greeted by the owner Diane, and each room was spacious (each with sitting area), clean, very comfortable and tastefully decorated with antiques. My bed was a king-size w/nice new mattress, soft sheets and down pillows. Bathroom was beautiful! Snacks and treats were available 24/7 - no charge. Breakfast was scrumptious and filling. All-in-all a wonderful stay. Will highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: I stayed in the second floor Landis Suite; coworker stayed in Miller Suite which was very private on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank museumcurator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    21
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
15
154
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at the main house. Beautiful antiques and confortable living spaces were everywhere.
It was very well centered in Ohio City walking distance from the Brewery, West Side Market and downtown. We were there when the transit system was hosting a fair so we were able to see some street entertainment and street markets, and auto show and try some ethnic foods. The breakfast was amazing and the host was very friendly but very discreat. It was nice to have someone take care of us for a couple days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent one night at the J. Palen House. After a stressful winter, this was a nice overnight treat. Even though we live locally, it was nice to get away from the daily routine and have someone take care of us. The location is superb and walking distance from the West Side Market. Our room was quiet, warm and cozy. We plan to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Locals44149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just returned from a long weekend at J Palen House and can't say enough good things!! We stayed in The Retreat and it is hands down one of the best places I have ever stayed. The decor is tasteful and somewhat timeless and not stuffy and outdated like many B&B's. The location is superb! Can't beat it surrounded by a plethora of fabulous restaurants, coffeehouses, breweries and west side market! The bed was super comfy and breakfast was outstanding! The innkeeper even gave us discount coupons for the Rock Hall which was much appreciated. She has thought of everything right down to late night snacks! The room was clean, private, and had lots of character which i loved. First class all the way. Thank you for a great weekend getaway. Do NOT hesitate to stay here!! You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gibson23Det
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent last weekend at J. Palen house in The Retreat, a room in side building a block away from the main house. We couldn't have been happier! Cozy room and a great common room, snacks, and convenient champagne glasses and Keurig coffee maker. The hosts were very nice and breakfast was tasty. Our hostess recommended nearby cocktail bar The Velvet Tango Room, where my girlfriend and I ended up having delicious anniversary cocktails and listening to jazz music until late in the night. Ohio City is a great neighborhood with many little restaurants and coffee shops and Tremont is nearby as well. Very nice weekend and we would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zromano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had an amazing anniversary weekend at the Retreat! Quiet, beautiful room, comfortable bed and beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi tub! Yummy homemade treats everynight, not to mention breakfast! Homemade and delicious, different each morning! Walking distance to West Side Market, a great experience, and right around the corner from funy restaurants and bars. So incredibly relaxing, we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a wonderful experience staying at The Kabat House a part of the J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast in August 2012, but their practices have changed dramatically in the last six months!! I am rating this experience as 1 star, because zero stars is not an option.

When I spoke by telephone today to the innkeeper to make an identical 2 day reservation for June 2013 she took my credit card information to hold the reservation and then later sent me an email with the following clause: " A $1500.00 security Deposit will be taken on your arrival. A refund of your deposit will be made within 3 days of departure less any amount required to repair any damages."

At no time during our conversation did she mention that a $1500.00 security deposit that would be held for THREE days after departure. Please note that we were not charged this fee in August 2012. The innkeeper's excuse is that The Kabat House is a separate residence with a key and a fireplace (a key and a fireplace in a B&B - imagine!!) and that her insurance requires this deposit.

We have stayed in many, many B&B's and VRBO's throughout this country and also in Europe. These have often been "separate residence" or freestanding building type of Bed & Breakfast, sometimes on the same property as the larger inn or sometimes a little bit away from the main inn and we have never been asked for any type of "security deposit" or additional fee beyond the usual cost of the rental.

Needless to say, we have already made arrangements to stay elsewhere, at an equally lovely location without any hidden fees with an innkeeper who is honest and upfront.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank JoanneMLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene M, Manager at J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
I am sorry that you feel a security deposit is an inappropriate request when renting a private residence. Our insurance coverage now requires this agreement in order to cover any damages to the property and liability by guests for this independent home . We strive to maintain the quality of this home for all our guests to enjoy. You were sent all pertinent information prior to any charges. It is certainly your option not to want to insure that your family be responsible for their actions, but we are unable to accept guests in this private residence without a security deposit. Deposits have always been returned promptly with no complaints of those who have accepted our terms and enjoyed this home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
1.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
1.5 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#3 of 38 in Cleveland
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast

Property: J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2708 Bridge Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, Sophistication and Location!Northeast Ohio's only luxury Urban Inn within a mile of all downtown activities, Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame,Horseshoe Casino, Aquarium Playhouse Square Theaters, All sport venues and 10 minutes from Cleveland Clinic, Walk to 28 of Cleveland's most interesting restaurants, breweries and the West Side Market! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing