We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lola Bistro & Wine Bar

Lola Bistro & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Lola Bistro & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,802 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Prospect Avenue
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spot on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband is from Cleveland and a fan of Michael Symon. He could not believe how much 4th street has changed since he was growing up there. We both ordered something a little less traditional for us, he had the lamb heart ( and Beef Cheek Pierogi), loved them! I had the squash soup with sweet breads and sturgeon which was cooked perfectly.

Service was exceptional and atmosphere was nicely done. When we get a chance to go back, I would like to sit at the bar overlooking the kitchen. To me those were the best seats in the house.

My husband commented on the fact that it was a little dark, but that was ok. If we had one complaint, was the noise. Very loud and we had a hard time hearing each other talk, I had to ask the server twice to repeat the specials. But beyond that, it was spot on. Just what to expect from Michael Symon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    222
    96
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
315 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
“Eclectic menu and chic atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We (6) friends had dinner at Lola's Tuesday night. We arrived at 8pm and enjoyed a cocktail at the bar which is beautiful and has floor to ceiling bottles of wine. Once seated our waitress was on-top of our group bringing us 2 bottles of Cabernet and several cocktails and beer. The bread is yummy, hot and fresh! We all had a different appetizer, the best were the gnocchi and the lobster although every one was magnificent. For dinner we had the pork chop (huge, moist and delicious), scallops, hanger steak, corn something, fish, and the pork shank. Everyone raved! We had some sides of the spinach with shaved Parmesan, also amazing. We all had dessert but by this point we also had too much alcohol...so all I remember was the chocolate/pretzel and cheesecake were the best. Our bill was $700+tip. Actually priced well for everything we ate and drank...we left full and happy and will definitely recommend Lola's to all. A great place for a large dinner party or a romantic dinner for 2. The staff are top notch, the chefs are the best and very talented.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elf.dml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unusual and wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I had dinner here with a group of folks. The menu had really unusual items such as bone marrow, lamb heart, pig ears... so you should only come here if you are adventurous. For appetizer I had the beef cheeks in pierogis - delicious. Then the pork shank entree - a huge portion - definitely something I'd split with someone in the future. One of my friends ordered the lamb heart, and I tried a piece. Tastes just like a rare steak, also delicious. We also ordered the pork belly and pig ears appetizer - the pork belly was great. The pig ears were deep fried, a little too crunchy for me because they almost looked like onion straws. Great flavors. The place is noisy, so if you're looking for a lot of conversation, that might be tough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“An accidental surprise that wowed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

On our last day in Cleveland we de died to venture through downtown to see what the city had to offer. We stumbled across some fun shops, interesting night life which we couldn't partake in being that it was early afternoon, and then we came to Lola. We decided to go in and see what she had to offer.

The restaurant is stunning, romantic, and artistically pleasing all at the same time. It gives a homey yet sophisticated feel that screams glamour yet comfort. I guess it's hard to explain, which is why I recommend you give it a try for yourselves.

I had hanger steak with the skinniest frites I've ever seen on a bed of micro greens with a fried egg on top. The steak was scrumptious. I devoured it in mere minutes simply because the flavors were incredible. It was tender, juicy, and seasoned just right. My boyfriend, who is usually non adventurous in his eating, ordered a fried bologna sandwich. I thought he was certainly not going to enjoy it but he too couldn't get enough of his food.

This is a restaurant we still talk about ten months later.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Belle1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good but a bit pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

On a recent visit to Cleveland, we asked friends who live there to choose a premiere restaurant. They suggested Lola. Wanting to try a Michael Symon restaurant, we readily agreed. Located at the head of trendy 4th Street it is picturesquely situated. We were immediately seated at a prime window table overlooking the outside action. Inside, the ambiance was romantic and subdued. I started with oysters for an appetizer. Instead of the suggested sauces, I requested tobasco. I was served just enough in a small saucer to dampen all six. Our friends both ordered the pork chop, the signature entree. My wife had the Pacific Halibut and I chose the pork shank. All entrees were delicious. The service was impeccable. The taste and presentation were both first class. Having dined at restaurants operated by George Perrier, Emeral, Jose Garca, and Steven Starr, my feeling was that the prices at Lola were about 15% too high for a Major Chef's restaurant and about 25% too high for this area, considering the other fine establishments co-habiting 4th Street.

Helpful?
1 Thank theredwiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola Bistro & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Lola Bistro & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing