We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Lola Bistro & Wine Bar
Ranked #5 of 1,844 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Prospect Avenue
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

An excellent meal with few flaws. The room was nice, but a little dark, and the noise level was a little louder than optimal. The service was excellent, though a little slower than NYC speed. The heirloom tomato salad was perfect, and the marrow appetizer was tasty, but HUGE! Steak and pork chop entrees were well done, and scallops were perfectly done. A little pricey, but worth the cost.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flam1ngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    255
    109
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome, awesome, awesome!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was the best meal we have ever had. Totally lived up to my expectations. The drink menu is on a tablet pc. Very cool. We had the Maine Lobster and Beef Cheek Pierogi appetizers, the Kale salad and the Heirloom Tomato salad, the Corn and Leek soup, then husband had the Ribeye and I had the Scallops. Then, if we weren't stuffed enough, we had the Manchego Cheesecake (delish!) and the 6a.m. Special for dessert. We ate like we were dying! Actually, it was our first visit to Lola and we anticipate not being back for another year, so we tried everything we wanted. The service was friendly and efficient and the prices were totally reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JFab_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner!!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is the first time my wife and I had visited Lola and were were extremely impressed. Our server was great and was very helpful in suggesting dishes. Amazing wine list with a good pricing range (something for every budget). We had the Pork belly appetizer to start. My wife had the Pork Chop and I had the Pork Shank (can you see a theme in our meal) and both were huge portions. We did not get any sides and by the end of dinner we were stuffed. We did manage to get the Brioche French toast with maple bacon ice cream for dessert. I have eaten at similar restaurants in other cities and by far this is the best. Both of our meals were amazing and from the hostess to the server everyone there we encountered was fantastic. We will be going back for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lived up to Expectation”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Everything seemed to live up to our expectation here.Had beef cheek pierogi as an appetizer.Split with hubby.Very rich and delicious,glad to have just a taste.Sturgeon excellent entree.Service very good.I had the best cocktail of the weekend here,the wave runner 400.A tequila cocktail that you could actually taste the tequila.Chocolate peanut butter dessert so good,we wanted to lick the plate.The only negative,and its not even food related,was the fork.Silly,but its such a heavy,odd shaped fork,that its difficult to hold.Sort of takes away(just a bit)from the pleasure of the good food.Will bring my own fork next time,ha ha.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Freindly staff and good atmosphere”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We heard about Lola reputation for some time and went there today. Inside restaurant was well decorated well but it was too dark for us, so we decided to sit outside, which was great because we had live-music from the East 4 th street.

Staffs were really friendly and service were good. Our server suggested the corn soup (10$) which was delicious. They come to pour the soup from the pot to our dish on our table, which made it's interesting. We ordered Beef Cheek Pierogie ( 2 pieces -12$), the taste was OK. Then we had tomato salad with blue cheese (11$) and the smoked Berkshire pork chop (28$). The pork chop portion was fine, there ware a couple pieces of green onion and red pepper garnished on top. The pork chop was OK, not too dried but we'd expect it to be more seasoning. The tomato salad was disappointing, it was miserably small, it contained few pieces of tomato, pineapple and three pieces of blue cheese. I'd expected it to have some leaves or more vegetables but it wasn't. We finished our meal with pistachio ice cream ( 6$) which was the best thing for our dinner. It was smooth and creamy, had nice favor of pistachio.

Lola is a trendy upscale bar and have nice atmosphere, the staff are friendly but the food is just OK. For this price, my expectation is higher.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanthawan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola Bistro & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Lola Bistro & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing