We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth the $$$” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lola Bistro & Wine Bar

Lola Bistro & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Lola Bistro & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,831 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Prospect Avenue
Senoia, GA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the $$$”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I am a casual watcher of The Food Network, and when we found ourselves in Cleveland for a weekend, my friend suggested going to Michael Symon's restaurant Lola... I had no real idea who he was.
Now I know he's a great chef if he put this menu together.
Everything was great. We had the oysters mignonette, perogies and bone marrow appetizers. If you've never had bone marrow, this is the place to try it. It's a unique taste and texture, but I liked it.
For entrees we had ribeye with a salad topping (lemon dressing dripping into the steak..), scallops and the pork chop. The dessert was the 6am special - look it up...who would have thought bacon ice cream would be good?
Unbelievable.
If you are on a budget eat cheap for breakfast and lunch and splurge this one time. It will be so worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CherylCrT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    250
    105
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Worth the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

It is impossible for to put into words how excellent this restaurant was. From the atmosphere to the service to the food. Everything was great. We had the oysters mignonette, perogies and bone marrow appetizers. For entrees we had ribeye, scallops and the pork chop. The dessert was the 6am special. Unbelievable. If on a budget eat cheap for breakfast and lunch and splurge this one time. It will be so worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigers8932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Ohio
Level Contributor
122 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Gotta Visit When In Cleveland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

One of the top places to go in Cleveland. Very unique atmosphere, excellent service, imaginative menu and amazingly delicious food. Braised lamb, beef Ribeye we're amazing as we're the scallops. Be sure to try the beef cheek pierogis and the crab tator tots.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
189 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Amazing food in downtown Cleveland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were here with a group downstairs in their private party room. All the food was amazing. Nothing was sub par. The service for our group was excellent, even by the waitress that was new. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“a reason to come back to Ohio?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

On an overnight in Cleveland and we ended up at Lola. We had no idea about the whole celebrity chef aspect and we were totally prepared to have an 'okay' meal because we're snobby coastal folks and don't expect great food to occur anywhere in the middle (except Chicago, of course).

Wow. This was really good. The bone marrow probably took years off my life but I'm ok with that, and if I was in the area I'd go back for more. It was so good it made me regret eating the bone marrow at Wit & Wisdom 2 months before. I had a beautiful candied pork shank that was Flintstones sized and had meat that fell off the bone. IT was so good that it was still tasty as a cold leftover (and you know how greasy pork gets when its cold) the next day. My companion had the lamb heart which was like slivers of filet mignon that tasted like lamb. We both wished we had room for dessert but it wasn't happening.

The whole wine list on the ipad...interesting. But why not have the whole menu on the ipad? Then us middle-aged people don't have to bust out the iphone flashlight or magnifiers.

The service was attentive but unobtrusive. I liked that the hospitality seemed genuine (this seems to be a Cleveland thing in general) and I also liked that the chefs and cooks were rocking out in the kitchen. We noticed that the maitre D took the time to come and chat with the guy at the next table who was dining alone. It was a lovely gesture, especially since he was in Cleveland to be with a friend who was undergoing surgery at Cleveland Clinic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adverb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola Bistro & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Lola Bistro & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing