We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodations for large group of...”
Arial #1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arial #1
Arial #2 Arial #3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Arial #1
Arial #2
Arial #3
Backview #2
Swiming raft
Clear swimming Waters
Foyier
Main hallway
Great Room
Game Room *** THIS IS ONLY HALF OF THE GAME ROOM***
Executive Poker Table
Pop a shot
Master Bedroom with King Barn Bed *** ALL BEDS ARE CRAFTED BY A LOCAL AMISH CARPENTER!***
Bedroom #2 (Queen Bed with a Twin over a Full Bunk Bed with vaulted ceilings)
Bedroom #3 (Queen Bed with a Twin over a Full Bunk Bed with vaulted ceilings)
Bedroom #4 (Queen bed)
Bedroom #5 (Queen Bed with a Twin over a Full Bunk Bed)
Real Stone Floor to Ceiling Fireplace
ALL FULL BATHROOMS HAVE DOUBLE VANITIES!
Loft
Laundry Room
Commercial like kitchen appliances
Bird watching
one of many local stands
Local Amish produce stand
Farm fresh produce!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Cleveland, Ohio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ilovetoha...
Canton, Michigan
1 review
“Excellent accommodations for large group of family or friends”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Golden Bear Lodge in the perfect accommodations for family and friend get-togethers. This was our third stay and certainly will not be the last. The first two visits were with 6 other couples for an annual winter weekend get -away for each of the last two years, and this past visit was for a surprise birthday party for my dad. We had family from all over the world aged 2 through 70 and there was something for everyone whether rain or shine. During periods of rain, we took advantage of the huge kitchen table for lots of game/card playing and of course, enjoyed the lower level game room with pool table, TV and arcade games. When the weather was nice, the younger kids enjoyed the swing set by the pond, and the "older" crew enjoyed hanging out on the deck and the fire pit by the pond where we made banana boats and camper pies. The large yard provided lots of space for some fun games of soccer. Jesse was wonderful about communicating with us promptly via email and phone calls prior to our arrival and answering all of our questions. The lodge is well stocked with all the amenities of home, spacious, decorated tastefully, and more important, very clean! For those looking for additional adventures, the Lodi shopping outlets are nearby as well as the cities of Akron and Cleveland. We would highly recommend the Golden Bear Lodge as a place to relax and have fun. Thanks for sharing your beautiful Lodge and giving us a meeting place to make such fun memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ability to have a large group under one roof with lots of fun things to do
Liked least: The only recommendation I would make is for the property owners to supply chairs at the firepit so people didn't have to bring bag chairs along, otherwise the Lodge is extremely well stocked with amenities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
74dk1k
Mount Vernon, Ohio
2 reviews
“Awesome place for a family get together!”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had our family all together for a stay at this wonderful lodge! We are in age from 1/12 to 79 and we all had a fantastic time. My 6 yr old grandson said he had one of the best times of his life! We did not want to leave. It felt like we were somewhere really special but we were close to home for some of us. We also had family from Texas Pennsylvania and Illinois. The lodge was clean and well cared for. The communication was excellent with the owner. This was so fun and we made many memories together. The lodge has so much to offer to everyone. The game room was fun and we had lots of friendly competitions. The pond was a big hit as well. It was voted by all as excellent and we want to come again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lodge was set up for family fun and clean.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra M
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Top-notch lodge for family reunion”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We celebrated a family milestone over the Easter weekend at the lodge. It was PERFECT! The kids had a great time playing all the fun games on the first floor (pool, basketball game, etc), and we all enjoyed the hot-tub and fireplace! The place was immaculately clean, with great beds in all combinations (bunks, singles, doubles, king), and a clean kitchen outfitted with all the appliances we could have wished for. We walked in the woods, played on the play equipment by the pond, and had a meal in the sun on the deck. The living room is elegant and the dining area spacious but cozy. Great time, great place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Spectacular House!”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My wife and I, along with three other couples, rented the Golden Bear Lodge for a long weekend away from everything. The owners were very helpful, friendly and accessible throughout the process. I was even able to meet one of them at the house for a tour before we confirmed our booking and fell in love with the Lodge at first sight. Once I got inside, I didn't want to leave! The bedrooms, living areas, kitchen, and bathrooms were all clean and well maintained. The hot tub was superb and fit all eight of us comfortably. Despite the freezing temperatures outside, we were warm inside by the fire place. The basement game room was also a highlight, with several video games, a pinball machine, a great pool table, a poker table, and a pop-a-shot basketball game. The Golden Bear Lodge has even more amenities during warmer months, which we hope to be able to enjoy sometime soon. It was truly a beautiful house and we had absolutely no complaints about anything. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was fabulous!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry X
New Albany, Ohio
1 review
“Winter holiday season experience”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Great experience! We have 5 families and stayed in the lodge for 2 nights. The 2 story fireplace is awesome and all rooms are clean and neat. The lodge has many indoor entertainment options to keep 10 kids (6-14 yrs old) occupied. Ski resort is only 30-min. away. Kids were excited to see horses and buggies on the road. We spend most of the time indoor since it is winter but can image more outdoor activities in early Summer or fall with camp fire, BBQ and mini golf. Look forward to a return stay in summer 2015!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary V
Galena, United States
2 reviews
“THE PERFECT GETAWAY...5 STARS ARE NOT ENOUGH!”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Simply put this place was amazing. High end amenities, carefully thought out floor plan. From the minute we arrived we were never disappointed. Super clean! High end games in game room. Communication with the owners was warm and thoughtful. Our family can't say enough about this PERFECT get away!! You will NOT be disappointed ~ Sue V

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Quiet atmosphere and super cleanliness of the entire lodge.
Liked least: That we had to leave :)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmcohen58
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything we expected and more”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We rented Golden Bear Lodge which is a very large log cabin for Thanksgiving with extended family and it was everything we expected and more. There were 16 of us and we never felt like we were on top of each other. All of us are gourmet cooks (not by profession) and found that the kitchen and its equipment met our our needs. The great room where the fire place is and the views through the windows were spectacular. The hot tub outside was on the deck and easy to access. We did have a minor issue with the water over flowing the tub hence we had to add water.

The added bonus was the video games in the basement - totally addicting!!

Granted the place is somewhat remote as it is near West Salem Ohio which is Amish country, we still found things to do nearby. This included hiking, checking out several Amish craft places nearby and outlet mall shopping.

Jesse - the owner was easy to work with and kept checking in with us by phone and answering my questions before and after we arrived.

Bottomline great place for extended families with older kids, college age kids, and/or a group of friends getting together to chill and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing