We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“65 Acres of Bliss”
Arial #1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arial #1
Arial #2 Arial #3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Arial #1
Arial #2
Arial #3
Backview #2
Swiming raft
Clear swimming Waters
Foyier
Main hallway
Great Room
Game Room *** THIS IS ONLY HALF OF THE GAME ROOM***
Executive Poker Table
Pop a shot
Master Bedroom with King Barn Bed *** ALL BEDS ARE CRAFTED BY A LOCAL AMISH CARPENTER!***
Bedroom #2 (Queen Bed with a Twin over a Full Bunk Bed with vaulted ceilings)
Bedroom #3 (Queen Bed with a Twin over a Full Bunk Bed with vaulted ceilings)
Bedroom #4 (Queen bed)
Bedroom #5 (Queen Bed with a Twin over a Full Bunk Bed)
Real Stone Floor to Ceiling Fireplace
ALL FULL BATHROOMS HAVE DOUBLE VANITIES!
Loft
Laundry Room
Commercial like kitchen appliances
Bird watching
one of many local stands
Local Amish produce stand
Farm fresh produce!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Cleveland, Ohio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janet G
Avon Lake, Ohio, United States
1 review
“65 Acres of Bliss”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The photos just do not do this property justice. You just cannot believe how incredible it is. So picturesque and a work of function and art! Every amenity you could have imagined is right there. Fun place for a family get together or other group outing. Immaculate and inviting! Can't wait to go back. This would be an awesome place in the winter since the views are spectacular!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Location, Location
Liked least: Couldn't find a hose to refill the hot tub
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy S
Elyria, Ohio
1 review
“What an Awesome place!”
Reviewed October 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our weekend at Golden Bear Lodge was awesome. From our very first contact with Jesse and Justin to the end of our Dinner Club weekend, it was a great experience. Jesse and Justin were kind enough to give us a tour of the Lodge in the dead of winter, even though we weren't planning a trip until fall. They talked me through the entire rental process and followed up on the day we checked out to make sure everything had gone well. We couldn't have asked for a cleaner or more well stocked place. From kitchen to bath rooms to game room! We had a bonfire in the fire pit , hiked in the woods, the guys golfed at a course in nearby Ashland and the girls did a little beading at the huge dining table! Throw in some wine and beer and everyone was happy. We loved the deck the swing and all the rockers. Had dinner in Wooster, which is only a half hour away, and did an afternoon tour of Loudinville, which is also not too far. You can be as busy or as not busy as you want. So very relaxing! Thanks Jesse and Justin....it was great!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D
Chickasaw, Ohio
1 review
“AWESOME PLACE!”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Excellent place to have a family getaway! Customer service (I spoke with Jesse) is incomparable to anywhere else we have been. The place was immaculate when we arrived. Plenty of things for people of all ages to do. Cool game room, huge screen TV to watch the games, a large backyard to run around, a basketball hoop and there is a pond if you want to try your hand at fishing!. The guys went to a couple local golf courses (within 20 minutes - Mohican Hills is excellent). A group also hit a winery 30 minutes away. The women went to the outlet malls - not sure how far away that was. All in all, I would HIGHLY suggest anyone coming here for a little isolation from the hustle and bustle of the real world. Thank you Jesse and Justin! We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion and so many things to do
Liked least: Nothing - this place is fantastic in every regard!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
Hartville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Golden Bear Lodge was AMAZING! Great customer service from booking to check out! The Owners definitely take the time to make sure all of your questions are answered. This cabin is absolutely beautiful! Super clean, cozy, private, well-maintained and had plenty of room and activities to keep our group of 20 busy all weekend long! I'm not sure if I've ever slept in a bed as comfy as the beds here! Our days were filled with fishing, swimming, hiking, grilling
(grill was provided), family bets in the game room and relaxing in the hot tub! Even though we chose to stay in.. they did provide a book of activities/ attractions that were nearby. There is also a grocery store about 5 min away.. for those items you might forget!
If you're looking for the perfect place to get away...this is it!!Our family and friends are still talking about our stay and making plans for our next trip!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Not sure I could pick out one thing!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gkayy13
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Golden Bear Lodge”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Golden Bear Lodge was the perfect place for our group of 10 to reunite and have a great weekend. We first heard about the lodge from a friend who had nothing but wonderful things to say about the property and its owners. Between the rave reviews and browsing the pictures online we sure that Golden Bear Lodge would be perfect for us-- and it did not disappoint. From the start the owners had great communication and followed up after our stay to make sure everything went well. When we arrived the lodge was immaculate and believe it or not, was better than the pictures. We had a great time exploring the surrounding area and using the expansive space to enjoy ourselves. The entire place and process exceeded our expectations. We had a great time and will likely come back for years to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H
Medina, Ohio
1 review
“Perfect Golf Retreat”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our group of 16 golfers, ages 27-53, stayed at the lodge recently for our 15th annual golf outing. It worked out perfectly!! Three days of 18 holes each day at Brookside in Ashland (20 min. drive), followed by a few relaxing evenings at the Golden Bear Lodge was awesome. From the very start, working with Jesse to make the arrangements was smooth and simple. We were very impressed at how clean and comfortable everything was. The game room was a big hit as you might imagine and got alot of use and the kitchen was very well equipped and had everything we needed & more. Most of our time was spent on the huge deck and in the backyard. Both had plenty of space to accomodate our group and plenty of room for lawn jarts, can jam, wiffle ball and just sitting around catching up. This was our best outing yet and we are already reserving the Golden Bear (a fitting name for a golf outing) for the 16th annual next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall space and available activities
Liked least: the cost
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
300Shirle...
Willoughby, Ohio
1 review
“Fantastic Getaway From the City!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The Golden Bear Lodge was a wonderful venue to celebrate my son's 30th birthday, or for that matter, any vacation or event. We had friends and family ranging in age from 7-70 and we were never at a loss for things to do. Right from the moment of contacting Jesse to rent the lodge, he made the process easy and was always available by phone or email to answer my questions. He was pleasant and eager to please to make our weekend the best! He made it clear what their rental expectations were in order to provide us with the best possible facility.

Upon entering the lodge, we were stunned by the beauty of the lodge and the surrounding area. Every area of the lodge was spotless and very well maintained. The kitchen was very well-equipped - and that's coming from a bunch of Italians who like to cook:) There was enough seating for everyone to sit at the same table and have a meal. The deck itself made it easy to enjoy everyone's company whether you were on the deck or in the kitchen. The deck furniture was aesthetically pleasing, comfortable, and seated 8 of us very well. The cook-friendly grill was used and we noticed we were low on propane. I made a call to Jesse and the problem was taken care of easily and efficiently. The grill was of a large capacity and easy to use.

The game room/video room was every kid's dream and adult's dream too! Big and small spent hours down there on the games, playing pool, shooting baskets or just watching TV. There was plenty of room to sprawl out and enjoy the sounds of the lights, bells, and whistles!

Every bedroom was a great size and accommodated all 20 of us beyond our satisfaction. The mattresses were very, very comfortable and the bedding and linens were of a high quality.

Everyone enjoyed the pond! We had lots of expert fishermen among us who loved to try to catch the big one! Many hours of that weekend were spent at the pond, whether it was actually fishing or as a spectator to see who could catch the big one.

Ten adults from our group went to Battlezone in Mansfield, OH for paintballing. They had a fantastic time and couldn't stop talking about it. My husband and son have done paintballing at other facilities and said this was the best one to which they had been.

I would highly recommend the lodge to anyone who wants to stay in a beautiful lodge that is highly appointed and well-equipped. It is a wonderful place to create many new memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lodge itself - but I think many enjoyed game room the most!
Liked least: It would be nice if there was a pool.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing