We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Mexican around”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Momocho

Momocho
Ranked #12 of 1,835 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Momocho serves award winning modern mexican cuisine / located in the historic ohio city neighborhood / dinner 6 nights a week + weekday happy hour from 5pm-630pm / seasonal outdoor patios / reservations accepted for parties of 6 or less / viva momocho!
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Mexican around”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Amazing guacamole and tacos! Everything on the menu is excellent and the drinks are pretty good too. A unique selection of cocktails. Go there if you're in the mood for Mexican and no where else! Go now!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellewood713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    103
    39
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parma Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Mod-Mex”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a refreshing twist on mexican cuisine. We have been here a handful of times and the chef/owner has even let us stop in for a gift card hours before it has opened when we called ahead. First things first, you will need reservations unless you want to line up at the door before five (and there usually is a line that forms 10-15 mins before open) or wait for table turnover. Happy hour food is a great deal if you are seated on the first floor but the food is worth it at full price. Happy hour drinks are limited to just a few items.

The margaritas are potent-in both alcohol content and flavor. Plan transportation accordingly because you will probably want more than one. The staff can range from ok to great. Do yourself a favor and ask if the chef's table is ever available when you are calling in reservations. The guacamole is good and comes in several flavors. I've never ordered the same entree twice because they've always been so good I want to try out another. When we sat at the chef's table, he slipped us some green beans (a side item) and now we are set on ordering them next time we visit as well. There's nothing I haven't liked at this place yet.

This is restaurant is best suited for adults and parties of six or less.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get there early...”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I love this place. I love their Happy Hour! But even without the discounted pricing, the food is well worth it. Get the goat cheese guacamole. It's the best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sassyirishlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average Mexican food and terrible bar service”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

If you'd like to have average Mexican food but be insulted by an arrogant bar tender, then this is the place to go. We were meeting friends for dinner & arrived a little early to have a happy hour drink. Not only did the bartender charge us full price and insult us when questioned, but apparently that's acceptable behavior. Both the hostess and our waiter knew of the behavior, joked about it, but never corrected the bill. The $7 overcharge isn't the issue-it's the fact that everyone knew about horrible behavior and made excuses for it. The food was only ok - but maybe because the whole experience left a bad taste in my mouth. If we weren't meeting friends I would have walked out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geauga61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

An explosion of flavor in your mouth! I am usually not one to "have a taste for mexican", but my boyfriend loves mexican so I decided to try it. I would go back and try every item on the menu. In addition, the wait staff is knowledgeable and friendly. Definitely make a reservation. The place is small, but worth the wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momocho also viewed

 

Been to Momocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing