We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place for anyone!”
Review of Momocho

Momocho
Ranked #12 of 1,841 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Momocho serves award winning modern mexican cuisine / located in the historic ohio city neighborhood / dinner 6 nights a week + weekday happy hour from 5pm-630pm / seasonal outdoor patios / reservations accepted for parties of 6 or less / viva momocho!
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun place for anyone!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a great place for anyone - couples, friends, solo, and business. I think it can be great for families, too, but it is a more hip and fun place than a family dining experience. The cucumber margarita is worth the price of admission! I just love the fact that you can sit at the bar and have a drink and guacamole or have a nice sit-down meal. The people who work there are really nice, competent, and more that willing to answer your questions. I have eaten her for happy hours (which is great) by myself at the bar and the staff are just as friendly as to a table. Parking lot gets full quick but the street parking around it makes up for it. If you haven't tried it yet - what are you waiting for?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank biztreking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    103
    40
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

If you are expecting normal Mexican fare, go somewhere else! Momocho is out of the ordinary, fun, and awesome food! This is an experience not to be missed. The guacamole is superb, margarita sampler is fun, entrees have a blend of flavors you won't find elsewhere. What are you waiting for....GO!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chicagioans even think its amazing!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Cleveland for a weekend to see the rock and roll hall of fame (something on our bucket list!) and we decided to go to this restruant. We are spoiled with great food in Chicago but this was AMAZING! We all got these dishes wear they give you some sort of veggies meat or seafood and a few sides and you make your own soft shell corn tortilla tacos! Very authentic. Been to great Mexican restaurant in Chicago and Mexico but this was fantastic. Chips good too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Katherine64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Cozy with amazing food. We tried the margaritas sampler and guacamole sampler before our main dishes...amazing. Make sure to make a reservation several weeks in advance! This place stays busy!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KimmyG_CLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hip Mexican!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This trendy little hot spot nestled in Cleveland's Ohio City neighborhood is worth checking out. They specialize in a variety of guacomoles and tequilas. I would highly recommend trying their guacomole and/or margarita sampler. I will warn you that this restaurant is fairly small and gets packed. You will most certainly need reservations or be prepared to wait until after 9:00 on the weekends to get seated. The decor is a cross between Mexican and a New Orleans type voodoo lounge. Very cool. Great food and really good service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WayfaringWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momocho also viewed

 
Cleveland, OH
 

Been to Momocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing