We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Momocho

Momocho
Ranked #10 of 1,831 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Momocho serves award winning modern mexican cuisine / located in the historic ohio city neighborhood / dinner 6 nights a week + weekday happy hour from 5pm-630pm / seasonal outdoor patios / reservations accepted for parties of 6 or less / viva momocho!
Pennsylvania’s Endless Mountains, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Fun atmosphere. The only complaint I had was that the waiter did not tell me something that I ordered was VERY spicy!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mejustme90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    103
    39
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Traveled to Ohio City Just to Eat Here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were not disappointed! Made reservations and although we couldn't get one until 10:15 on a Saturday evening, it was worth the wait. We had seen this place on the FOOD network and decided we'd make a weekend out of it. The guacamole was excellent! Our server was friendly and helpful, pointing out a few dishes worth trying. I had the tamales (HIGHLY RECOMMEND!) while my boyfriend tried a pork dish. Everything was delicious and the atmosphere was cozy and fun. We will be back!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PghJenna37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food... Better Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The restaurant is located in a converted house in a historic neighborhood of Cleveland. Parking is limited next to the building but there is usually street access. Once inside the bar is on the first floor with seating and the main dining room is upstairs. The decor is filled with old Mexican photos and many 'Lucha Libre' (masked wrestlers) nostalgia.

On to the food.... you are cheating yourself if you do not get the margarita sampler as well as the guacomole sampler. Both are a great way to get a real taste of the food. My fiance and I were lucky enough to sit at a makeshift 'chef's table' where we watched the cooks make guacomole and other things. My fiance has a gluten allergy and was able to try some variation of almost everything on the menu.

Bottom line... this place is a must go for Mexican food. If you are expecting 'Taco Bell' type of Mexican food you sill be dissapointed. Great tastes, service, and atmosphere.

The Blood Orange margarita and guacomle with habanero is a must.

-Sam

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
387 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“great guac, empenadas and beer menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

cool atmosphere, friendly staff, good food! my friend and I sat at the bar. She had a magarita and I tried 2 different dark beers. We split a guac that had pinapple in it and a seafood empanada. Everything was delicious!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank likethewind27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“wonderful food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Last night I took my son (a freshman at CWRU) to dinner at Momocho. Bar area was packed, upstairs a bit of a wait, but with the cooler temps we were able to get a table on the patio.
What a wonderful meal. Started with the Guacamole sampler. All were wonderful with the smoked trout being my favorite. Son's main was the wild boar and mine the brisket. Wow to both. Sadly we were too full to sample dessert. The service was just right, attentive and informative without being rushed. Highly recommend for a unique take on Mexican fare.
One suggestion; add heaters to the patio area to extend the seasonal use of this space.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank forhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momocho also viewed

 

Been to Momocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing