We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Mexican”
Review of Momocho

Momocho
Ranked #12 of 1,841 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Momocho serves award winning modern mexican cuisine / located in the historic ohio city neighborhood / dinner 6 nights a week + weekday happy hour from 5pm-630pm / seasonal outdoor patios / reservations accepted for parties of 6 or less / viva momocho!
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
274 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Gourmet Mexican”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent "gourmet" Mexican food.
The reputation for their guacamole is well deserved.
Their coffee rubbed brisket was tender, smoky and moist.
The flight of margaritas was different and very enjoyable - allowing us to sample different flavors without consuming too much alcohol.
Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler1468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    103
    40
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
139 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Very good food and drinks”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Was lucky enough to get a table and a excellent waiter who walked me through the menu. Picked out several items and honestly enjoyed all of them. Margaritas are freshly made and very good. The menu special was a brisket rub with some amazing flavor primarily with coffee bean and I loved it. Worth a trip to a friendly neighborhood place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PMM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
110 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“really interesting mexican fare”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We live in Cleveland and were looking for a spot, so actually checked out tripadvisor ratings. Momocho was only one in the top 20 that we hadn't been to, so we thought we'd give it a shot. We were not disappointed.

The restaurant is located in the neighborhood of Ohio City. The building is relatively small, with a long bar and 7 or 8 tables on the first floor, and a second floor with another 10 tables and an open kitchen. Outside is a patio area with an additional half dozen tables. One downside is that the place does not take reservations for parties of 6 or less. We needed to wait about an hour for a table on Labor Day Sunday, which is a testament to the popularity of the place.

We waited for our table in the outdoor area and ordered a couple of margaritas from the bar. This was the only disappointment of the night. The margaritas (traditional and about 6 flavored types) were premixed and poured out of a gallon milk container at the bar. They were so so.

But once we got to meal, everything was great. We ordered guacamole, of which they have several varieties, and were served a generous portion along with chips that were hot out of the fryer. Excellent. We ordered and split a grilled corn on the cob appetizer that was also very tasty. For appetizers, I went with the sea scallops which were top notch. Four giant scallops served in a delicious cream sauce. My wife ordered the skirt steak which was very good, although I thought there were some better choices on the menu.

Service was attentive and friendly. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jwclevelander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I saw Momocho on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives and visited during a recent trip to Cleveland. It is worth a visit and I'd love to return. Make reservations days in advance since the place is very small. The margaritas are amazing, especially the spicy mango one. The staff is friendly but service and food delivery can be slow. We were at our table two hours and the server told us the next set of guests had arrived so we needed to finish eating. Get the guacamole sampler. Once the owner works out the service issues this place will be perfect.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great trendy mexican”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great trendy margarita and guacamole. Sometimes very hard to get a table though! Try to get reservations.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momocho also viewed

 
Cleveland, OH
 

Been to Momocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing