We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a fun time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland Play House

Cleveland Play House
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Cleveland Play House, recipient of the 2015 Regional Theatre Tony Award and founded in 1915, is America's first professional regional theatre. Throughout its rich history, CPH has remained dedicated to its mission to inspire, stimulate and entertain diverse audiences in Northeast Ohio by producing plays and theatre education programs of the highest professional standards. CPH has produced more than 100 world and/or American premieres, and over its long history more than 12 million people have attended over 1,600 productions. Today, Cleveland Play House celebrates its centennial while performing in three state-of-the art venues at Playhouse Square in downtown Cleveland.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Always a fun time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just saw War Horse there and it was brilliant. Amazing puppeteer work...just astonishing to see. Even plays that we're not certain we're going to love, have always turned out to be entertaining. We're season ticket holders for the last 3 years and always enjoy our visits.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank skm4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    17
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1964 in Concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wow, playhouse square complex is incredible. The show was at the Palace Theatre and it is beautiful with lots of great seats. The staff was wonderful and we just loved the show.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
214 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful stting and top flight performances”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Saw their annual production of "Christmas Carol" with a group of kids and adults from my church. Outstanding offering and they gave us a special after show presentation demonstrating the special effects used in the show. The kids loved it, and as an old community theater thespian, so did I!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank FJBCleveland_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the high quality shows!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Playhouse Square has been bringing great shows to the theaters for a number of years. I have enjoyed making trips to the Palace and State theatres especially. Just the theaters themselves are exquisive with the marble and designs.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So Much Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My mother and I were recently here to see a play and we just loved it! The theater staff was so sweet and helpful, the theater was clean, and the play was fantastic!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cleveland Play House also viewed

 

Been to Cleveland Play House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing