We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A five star location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland Public Library

Cleveland Public Library
Ranked #22 of 156 things to do in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
cleveland, ohio
Level Contributor
165 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A five star location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Went here recently on an Art and Architecture tour and learned many things about this Cleveland landmark which I did not know. I have not spent much time in this library in Downtown Cleveland since I live in the suburbs and do not work downtown anymore. I had forgotten how great are the building and contents. And now there is also the new building next door, and the garden in between. Fabulous!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    23
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fabulous, friendly and full of character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The building is full of history with a modern twist. As a visitor, you can get a 1 hour free internet pass with ID to access one of the many PC's which is very helpful. Or you can take your tablet or device and just log onto the public net for free. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The building beautifully restored and spacious. A treat not to miss.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank millie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lots of knowledge here abt EVERYTHING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

also, several dozen public computers in the basement. they open at 10am, so no earlybirds. i think that they still have a newspaper reading room with papers from all over the world

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“All libraries should look and feel like this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It's an exquisite place. The building itself is gorgeous. We were in the older building and unfortunately didn't have time to do both buildings. We had an amazing conversation with the librarian in the special collections section. Go see it as well as all the magnificent chess sets they have in their collection. Between the buildings is a reading nest. Check it out and experience the calm of sitting there and being absorbed in your surroundings and a favorite book. If all libraries were like this, they would all be packed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank abetter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reading - Seeing - Research - Whatever Your Needs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

First you have a world class location right downtown with state of the art technology. Have a relaxing time reading or use technology to find old newspapers of events in Cleveland - everything from Elliott Ness to NASA Space - it's all here in Cleveland.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dahmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cleveland Public Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing