We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Virtually nothing more add...Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cleveland Orchestra at Severance Hall

Cleveland Orchestra at Severance Hall
Ranked #2 of 175 things to do in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Virtually nothing more add...Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Joshua Bell and the Orchestra playing Beehoven...wow. Followed by an Cuba-African music in the lobby for an hour...another wow.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sethb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    20
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cleveland ohio usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never Better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

It is one of the best orchestras in the world.

With A Mozart symphony to start (his scores are always great) and the New World Symphony by Dvorak, we had a fabulous listing experience.

We could not recommend it more highly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Transported Back in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you have an opportunity to see a concert here, you must do it. You have a chance to hear one of the world's very best orchestras in one of the world's most beautiful venues with incredible acoustics. My husband and I recently enjoyed a program that included Prokofiev and Rachmaninoff. We sat in the "cheap" seats in the back of the upper-most tier and marveled at the amazing sound and the beauty of the space. If you are a fan of the Art Deco period, it is worth the price of admission just to sit in this space and feast your eyes on the auditorium. Indeed, even the lobbies and restrooms have been maintained in their original condition. This was my third visit to Severance Hall and I still can't believe my ears and my eyes. This space is a national treasure.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank arjayjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novelty
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you like great architecture combined with great music this is the place. It's been a while, but I have been going since I was a child to hear the orchestra.

Helpful?
1 Thank nancygNovelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Level Contributor
165 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The best orchestra in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I don't think you can find a better orchestra or venue to hear great music being played by the best musicians in the world.

If you have a chance to see the orchestra at Severance Hall - do it.
Take your kids.
Take your spouse.

Just go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DGeorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cleveland Orchestra at Severance Hall also viewed

 

Been to Cleveland Orchestra at Severance Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing