We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcoming Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
University Circle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 25, 2008

I just stayed at the University Circle Bed and Breakfast for the first time, and I'll definitely be back! This place serves as an inviting home away from home in a beautiful turn-of-the-century house at the edge of University Circle.

This B&B has quiet, nice-sized rooms that are appointed with all the creature comforts - down to the plush terrycloth robe in the closet! The breakfast was lovely (and very filling!) and served in a beautiful dining area. There's a comfy living room where you can curl up and read a magazine.

I thoroughly enjoyed my conversations with proprietor Gary, who made me feel like a welcome member of the family.

If you're looking for an alternative to an impersonal hotel, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SaysJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 72 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2008

This is a small, family-run place with a true atmosphere. Guests are well taken care of, great food for breakfast in a more than nice setting, quiet area. Room more than comfortable, free on-line access. Nice patio to relax (though the weather was too cold when I stayed). Most rewarding, though, is meeting the owner, Martha.

Great location for Case Western Reserve University and hospitals, a few minutes walk. Not far from the lakefront.

Definitely a place to consider when visiting Cleveland.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank adam_glaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Nice rooms, friendly staff. Nice breakfast.

Bathrooms are shared.

Unfortunately, someone in the house smokes, so the owners burn incense to cover the smell. Despite the incense, the smoke smell was noticeable and the incense was overpowering.

Because it is a house, noise control is difficult from room to room. If you are in one of the rooms that opens on to a shared bathroom, be prepared to hear someone else's private moments.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EsqTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2008

Ive been to several B&B's all over the country (i travel alot) and this is in the top two. We stayed for a case event and it was a 5 minute walk to the school. The hosts were great! Both Gary and Martha were extremely accommodating, kind and their house is impeccable. Gary even took us around Cleveland to his favorite pizza place and shared pizza with us! Breakfast was delicious, and we had great A/C in our room. The only draw back was having to share a bathroom with another room (the only reason i'm not giving it a perfect score). But other than that its a great B&BI would really recommend it especially if you have to go anywhere near or on University Circle!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hnliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Within walking distance to Case, but a private home with no signage -- not well known to locals. At first I was pleased, as the co-owner Gary drove by to pick me up. But his sister made me feel like I was a hassle. The bathroom was shared with the adjoining room -- both have a door into the bathroom. It seemed like I was the only guest, yet I was in the room where they store the linens, so they had to get in. No one made up the room/bathroom. Might be better if you are an early riser.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CaFSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

I stayed at the University Circle B&B while visiting Case on business recently. I loved it! The rooms and common areas are spotless, tasteful, supremely comfortable, and thoughtfully put together. The people who run it are terrific. I will be back to Case, and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank heads26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2005

I was traveling to Cleveland for business at Case and was surprised at how few hotel and B&B choices are available within walking distance of the campus.
Then I found University Circle B&B and boy did I luck out!
Located just next to the VA hospital and close to Wade park, the museums and Case campus, the B&B is in a lovingly restored 105 year old house. There is no sign of any sorts outside so as I approached the door I was unsure if this was the right place. But the warm and friendly welcome by Innkeeper Martha removed all doubts.
All guest rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. Martha tries to keep guests as private as possible but when the house is full, you may have to share a bath with one other party. Never a problem for me and everything was kept spotless.
There is a large living room and dining room downstairs as well as a large porch out front and patio towards the back yard. All invites you to relax and enjoy. Wish I had had more time to do so.
Breakfast was great. Fresh fruit, and good coffee and Martha will spoil you with omelets, eggs, bacon and whatever else you desire. She takes time to sit down and chat if you like which is so much nicer than in a hotel.
All in all, I cannot remember ever having felt so at home during any of my business trips. The University Circle B&B is an inviting place that offers a relaxed place to stay while in Cleveland's University district. And considering it is also the cheapest lodging in the area, it definitely qualifies as a rare find.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank batmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 mi away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#9 of 38 in Cleveland
675 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
#22 of 38 in Cleveland
189 reviews
4.3 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Circle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Circle Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1575 E. 108th St., University Circle, Cleveland, OH 44106
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price Range: $85 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business travel for Interns traveling professionals Academic medical short and long term stay Located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University Campus. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
University Circle b&b
University Circle Hotel Cleveland
University Circle Bed And Breakfast Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing