We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique concept, great experience”
Review of EDWINS Restaurant

EDWINS Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
EDWINS Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 1,841 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Shaker Blvd.
Description: Steeped in tradition and care EDWINS Restaurant offers seasonal, classic French cuisine in the midst of Cleveland's Shaker Square. The restaurant has a unique mission; to do good and eat well. The charming bar and lounge are a welcoming spot for before and after dinner drinks.
Clevelan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique concept, great experience”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had a great time at Edwins. We knew the story, that it is staffed entirely by ex-cons who are learning the industry, which was good because we had 3 different waiters stop by the table, one of whom we had a hard time understanding. BUT - they all had heart, they all did their jobs well, and we absolutely loved it!
Our "main" waiter was very unknowledgeable about the wine selections, but we pointed out which ones we wanted and so it was all good.
The bread was delicious but chilly, and the butter is AMAZING!
I had the rack of lamb special which the owner told us is only offered on the weekends and it was perfectly done and paired with a delicious cous cous.
My wife had the duck, which she loved even though she is not normally a duck fan, and the risotto that was with it was also excellent.
We live in the neighborhood and are so glad that they opened and we can't wait to go back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bobsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    28
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
103 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An excellent addition to the Cleveland restaurant scene”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Atmosphere, food and service were all excellent. Very creative cuisine and well executed. This is certainly one of the best Cleveland restaurants-maybe THE best!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jhkcle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a story!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on this French restaurant as a post Christmas getaway! The food was superb, wine excellent, & service attentive. The mission we read after dining and want to share-go and enjoy! The sweetbreads in Pasta sublime; lobster bisque unique. Bon appetit!

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An excellent beginning!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our group of four had a wonderful dinner on a Wednesday night, when the place was packed! The menu offered plenty of choices, food was excellent (portions modest but appropriately priced), and Jamar was a pleasant, engaging, enthusiastic waiter. Don't pass up the cheese "board," actually a cart nearly the size of a hospital gurney with a huge variety of interesting and unusual choices! The room can be loud when full, but we were seated at a corner table (#52) that allowed us to enjoy the atmosphere but still hear each other. There were some rough edges and refinement that should improve with time and experience (service attentive but a little slow and forgetful, somewhat awkward and unpolished pouring water and clearing dishes, main course not piping hot, long line to wait for valet to retrieve parked cars). None of this detracts from the overall excellent experience and the wonderful concept this brings to our community! We've spread the word to friends, and we'll certainly be back soon!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ddraj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic French in Cleveland”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

On a snowy night in Cleveland we had one of the best meals we've had in a restaurant in a long time. Everything we ate was terrific. The service was warm and welcoming, and the atmosphere was delightful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JBDOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EDWINS Restaurant also viewed

 
Cleveland, OH
 

Been to EDWINS Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing