We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nautica Pavillion/Jacob's Pavillion at Nautica?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flats

Ranked #50 of 175 things to do in Cleveland
Attraction details
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
160 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nautica Pavillion/Jacob's Pavillion at Nautica?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I could not find a listing for the concert pavillion at the Flats in Cleveland. So here we go. Hopefully the review goes to the right place. I have enjoyed at least 3, possibly 4 concerts at this pavillion. I have seen the Moody Blues twice and James Taylor perform and it usually a nice place to hear your favorite bands in a more intimate setting. I like the outside concept and have been lucky enough to be there on dry evenings but to be safe I always buy early and get under cover. Last night, however, the seating arrangement for some reason went awry. We were seated "closer" to the stage but at the very far end of the row which were not seats I had purchased and paid top dollar for. I am not sure if the management was trying to sell tickets at the door for good seats and so rearranged the seating under the guise of giving ticket holders "better" seats or what the agenda was but I was not a happy camper. Had those seats been filled, we would have had a terrible view of the stage. As it was they never filled and we were able to more over. I plan to write to a couple of people about that. Another spot to avoid sitting in is the first row past the center aisle. One would think this would be a good place but the constant traffic (can't think how anyone would want to move around so much during a performance) blocks the view. So I enjoy the area but it is disappointing to go and have difficulty finding a place to eat before the show. We did find Shooters but I was surprised that the 2 restaurants closest to the pavillion were both closed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    21
    17
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“oh my God!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Someone tell me if there is anything worth going to Cleveland for? My fiance used to go to Cleveland for work in the 90s and they would go to the flats to the bars and restaurants, now it is a pile of rubble. We drove home from OH via Cleveland the other day and were horrified not only by the flats (which we knew ahead of time had been mostly destroyed) but by the city in general. The downtown area was beyond awful, it was scary. The area west of the river was a poor neighborhood, though we ate there at a coffee house. A large once beautiful old building right by the Progressive Field had all broken windows looking like it was a crack house in a run down neighborhood. There must be an area where people shop and go to restaurants and can walk down the street? We didn't see it though. Why doesn't Cleveland take advantage of this area along the river and lake? In any other city a riverfront would be used for residences and entertainment. Who called it the mistake-on-the-lake? They were right.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank skibran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ruins!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Its sad to see all these empty buildings that use to be strong business at some point. But the beautiful details in each building and some of the older signs are such a great sight. I love the views of the river and the buildings. I dont know if it will ever be a strong business district again but i think some of the buildings need to be saved!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SnMCROSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Post Industrial Beauty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I live by the flats, so I'm biased. A lot of the flats are what's often called ruin porn. There's something romantic about seeing what was once, and not that long ago. There are still a number of great Irish pubs around and other things to do. Oftentimes they're under the radar so you don't get the suburban night out on the town crowd.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whitney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
247 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bulldoze it and start over”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Not the 80's any more. No reason to go down there. Not much left. resurrection under way to hopefully bring people downtown once again. More options on W.6th / W. 9th

Helpful?
3 Thank mikeys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flats also viewed

 

Been to The Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing