We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elliot Ness is my boyfriend!”

Great Lakes Brewing Company
Ranked #7 of 1,844 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Elliot Ness is my boyfriend!”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

O.K., let me say first that I love amber ales, and if I am in Cleveland, then Elliot and I have a standing date to get together!

Whether you are a fan of the regular line-up, or of one, (or more!), of the seasonal selections there really is something for everyone in the house -- main floor, downstairs, or upstairs. It has been quite some time since I had been upstairs and it has been as dramatically transformed as the basement area.

It is just so comfortable, like being at your favorite auntie's house, that is, if she brewed beer and cooked up a storm. I really do try to not to get the same thing twice, but last night succumbed to having the pretzel chicken. It is probably one of the few things I have eaten there more than once, and never disappoints. Salads are great, pizzas, you name it!

Staffers have been around for a long time, and it shows because they know their stuff. Case in point, our waitperson, Nancy, actually told us a little anecdote about the lamb stew. It is named after one of the Conway's (owners of Great Lakes) and he apparently does not like publicity, so when the menus were printed, he was outta luck with getting his name off of it!

One helpful point to remember if you are meeting folks there: your party will not be seated unless at least half of the total number is present.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KP D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    384
    95
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Completely overrated”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stopped by the Great Lakes Brewing Company one afternoon while in Cleveland. We were told that it was an excellent place to have a drink. While it's true that they do have a lot of beer, albeit not necessarily great beer, the food was absolutely awful. Neither one of us could finish our meals. We paid $60 for food that wasn't fit to serve at a public school cafeteria. I can assure you that we will never be returning to this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank weary_traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Beer, Good Food, Great Time”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Been here many times, and has never disappointed me once. They have good beer, including ones that you can't get in bottles at the grocery store. Food is always fantastic, especially the artichoke dip and barley pretzels. The pierogies & brats and mac & cheese are always terrific.

It's a pretty popular place so make reservations ahead of time, or you can always try finding a table in the basement where there's no reservations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrs2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulberry, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fun Place, GREAT food”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were seated in the basement which was a cute pub feel area, wine and beer selections were abundant and the food was great. The server was hustling to keep everyone well taken care of

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snshn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Time, Good Food”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Went here for dinner doing business trip. The food was good, well-priced and the beer was really good. The bar area is historic looking. The bar service was outstanding. Looks like a great Sunday afternoon football destination.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EB0R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Lakes Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Great Lakes Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing