We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST sushi in Cleveland”

Pacific East Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #117 of 1,840 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The BEST sushi in Cleveland”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Pacific East in Cleveland Heights is by FAR the best sushi around. My friends and I go here vey often, and I must say? Absolutely consistently terrific. The Malaysian menu is
Fabulous. A MUST try is the soup. Prawn Mee? ( I don't know how it's spelled) The service is always good, as the waitresses always come by and fill your tea cups. I honestly can't say enough about this place. I love it! ( there are 2 Pacific East restaurants in Cleveland- both good, but the one in Cleveland Heights has the Malaysian menu... Go to this one)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredible Malaysian food, excellent Japanese food, great service”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We've been going here about twice a year for the past 4 years, and the food and service has been consistently excellent throughout that time. They have 2 different menus: Japanese and Malaysian. The Japanese is very good, offering standard Japanese fare and excellent fresh sushi. The Malaysian menu is incredible and ourfavorite, especially since good Malaysian food is often hard to find. The flavors are mind blowing. I would recommend the salt&pepper squid, curry clay pot vegetables, and the okra with shrimp with the traditional Maylasian shrimp paste. It can get busy and a bit noisy during prime hours, but the servers are always very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 02138native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The BEST sushi in Cleveland.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Pacific East is consistently good. The sushi is amazing! The Malaysian menu is especially tasty. Pacific East also offers brown rice- we had all our sushi made with it. Absolutely a must go to place to eat if you are in the Cleveland Hts area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Favorite Sushi Place Ive Found”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The best sushi around town, friendly service, wouldn't have it any other way. The miso dressing on the house salad is to die for and they also explain the menu items very well if you ask for clarification. You can eat a lot for not much money or you can also not eat a lot but spend a ton. All depends on what roll you want but they have something for every taste and budget I think.

The one review on here is correct in their strange hours and policies on opening the door...

But once you get in you won't want to leave!

If you plan on going give me a call and take me too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Our new spot for sushi and eastern food”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

After several times going to Otani restaurant, we tried this one. And the atmosphere feels just right, with bright colors, fish decoration. It feels good to sit there.
We tried both the sushi and the other menus and loved it.
The mushroom soup is excellent, very recommended.
We have now a new spot in Cleveland :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gadi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific East Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pacific East Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing