We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to meet for a game”
Review of Champps Americana - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Champps Americana
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Chardon Ohio
Level Contributor
176 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Good place to meet for a game”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A group of 7 of us ate at Champps in Lyndhurst on Saturday night. The first thing you will notice is that it is a little hard to find. It is tucked back in an industrial area along the freeway. It is easy to pass if you are not looking closely. We did not have reservations and they sat us right away. The bar is a nice open design with lots of large TVs with various sporting events playing. We ordered drinks and we felt they were a little slow to get to us. They were also on the pricey side. Between the 7 of us we tried all the margarita varieties; all were very sour except for the Ultimate margarita, which tasted normal.

The menu has enough variety on it that you should find something you like and they have it available to view on their website. I had the Sirloin and found it to be very average. Jodie had the Walnut chicken…good with a very large portion. The other guests has various sandwiches, but all complained about them being cold. We saw other tables sending back food to be heated. One of our meals did not come out with the others, so I had to wait while the others were eating. You would think they would be able to get hot meals out all at the same time for a party of 7. Probably not a bad place to catch a game or meet friends, but not a place if you want really good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobo185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you love sports, you will love Champps. There is not a bad seat in the house. The menu is full of american choices. I thought the service staff could use more training on presentation. They sometimes seemed confused on what they were doing. Besides that, I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connoisseur72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great food & menu selection!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

we found this champps sports bar and resteraunt located by cedar road & i-271. it wasnt as busy of an area like the beechwood mall or mayfield heights resteraunts so we got seated without waiting at 7pm on a friday nite. they have a huge menu of selections, the food quality is great & the service is good. the atmosphere was entertaining because of all the various big screen tv's playing something different on each channel and the decor of the bar & room reminded me of an upscale type of buffalo wild wings. since we are from erie,pa. we cant wait to go back for another visit to try other food selections when in that area!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ed k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
191 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Place was very loud. First time here. Really enjoyed it. Food was great and portions were huge. Recommend sharing with someone. Would definatly return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMadDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
207 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good But Noisy”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We've been here a number of times. The food is reliably good, if unspectacular, and the service is usually pretty good. I was very pleased to see that they returned the Sicilain Parmesan Crusted Chicken Sandwich to the menu, I'm not sure why they ever dropped it. The unfortunate surprise we got was the noise level in the restaurant. The NFL playoff game was on and we were told, after we asked them to turn down the TV broadcast, that during major sporting events they play the TV audio over the loudspeakers. They were nice enough to turn it down a little but we learned a lesson - we'll visit when there aren't any major sporting events on.

Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champps Americana also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing