We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Another fine Marriott courtyard.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Cleveland University Circle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another fine Marriott courtyard.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

For those familiar with the brand, you will not be disappointed with this location. I was given an exceptionally nice room, looks brand new, as did the rest of the facilities. The location is excellent for hospital and university access. It is near many nice places to eat including little Italy. Very friendly staff makes for an overall great experience. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank zpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Zpops,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay and would return for another visit in the future. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    83
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
36
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have stayed several times at this location while visiting CWRU. Very convenient to campus and Little Italy. Rooms are comfortable and clean and staff is very friendly. The only complaint this time is with the Bistro for breakfast. VERY long wait for a couple of bowls of oatmeal (and it wasn't busy) and we noticed people who had ordered eggs, etc. also had very long waits. Seemed disorganized. I can't imagine how they handle a crowd. There is a Starbucks across the way and a Panera just down the street which would have been much better options for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltwins95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
traveltwins95,
Thank you for your review and continued patronage at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while visiting CWRU, and we're thrilled to hear about the comfort and convenience you consistently experience at our hotel.

Your feedback regarding breakfast service in the Bistro is important to us and assists in our mission to continuously improve. We have addressed your comments and are working with our staff to correct this issue. Thank you again for your review and patronage. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel is new and has comfortable, and has clean and pleasant rooms. It is close to University hospital and half a mile from the regional train station. Air-condition system is effective and not noisy. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Problems I encountered include:
Even though I asked for a quite room – I was give a room facing the main street which was noisy.
The TV set was difficult to operate especially changing the stations which was slow and took sometimes 10 seconds.
There was no laundry bag in the room.
The refrigerator in my room was not cleaned and contained food items from a previous guest.
The water in the shower was difficult to regulate because the spigot was far away from the shower head and the water temperature changed only after 8-10 seconds.
There was no tea bags in the room ( I do not drink tea) and when I requested them I was told they are not provided.
The hotel has a restaurant and serves sandwiches and Starbuck drinks. However, I was refused a refill of my coffee (“ It is not our policy to server refills” according to the restaurant manger) .
I wrote similar input in Marriott costumer service site, was promised a response from the manger but did not get one.

Room Tip: Chose a room facing west (not toward the front)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCtraveller41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
DCtraveller41,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing comments on your comfortable stay, as well as opportunities for improvement. I appreciate your honest assessment and apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay. Please be assured that we have addressed these issues with our staff in an effort to better our hotel and overall guest experience. We're pleased to know our convenient location, clean accommodations and friendly staff met your satisfaction otherwise. We do hope you will return to see our improvements. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Newer hotel, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are a good size and very clean. Definitely a place I would stay again when I am back in the area. It only has valet parking at $20 per night, but for the area that is not bad.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmrsports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
jmrsports,
We appreciate your review and visit with us at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. We're happy to have had you as our guest and we're glad our friendly service and clean accommodations perfectly suited your travel needs. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for your great review.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Good location to Case and Cleveland clinic. Wonderful complimentary shuttle to take you to clinics, restaurants. Don't eat there, service is too slow. There is a Starbucks across the street for breakfast and great restaurants in nearby Little Italy. The hotel could use microwaves in the room and a functional fireplace as well.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docmom3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
docmom3460,
We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially in identifying ways we can improve our guest experience. I assure you that your comments have been addressed with our team and additional steps will be taken to correct the issues you encountered with service. We're glad you found our location and complimentary shuttle to meet your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you back as our guest again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two days while visiting CWRU. The hotel is now on Campus (area used to be just outside the hospital) and close to a new area, the uptown. The rooms were extremely nice and clean. The hotel has a shuttle that provides a free service within the University Circle, all the way to the Rapid stations, to the museum, to Case or the Cleveland Clinic. There are a couple of amazing restaurants nearby. The hotel appears to be new. I arrived around 1:00 pm. The staff was ok but not friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmanani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Harmanani,
Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent experience at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while visiting CWRU and we're glad our location and complimentary shuttle service added convenience to your stay. Your comments have been shared with our team so we can do a better job of providing the exceptional service you've come to expect from us. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future. Thank again for your review.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard at University Circle last week to visit Case Western. The hotel seems recently renovated and the location was excellent. We arrived late at night, the check in was friendly, but the first thing I noticed was how dirty the carpeted floors were. The hotel was full of hockey team families and we were not given the rollaway bed that we had asked for weeks earlier. We ended up getting the rollaway bed the next night, but one of our teenage sons had to sleep on sofa cushions the first night. The next morning, we waited a long time for our breakfast. Everyone in the restaurant was very friendly, but it seemed like they were totally unprepared for such a large crowd of people. The valet parkers were also very slow due to the high volume. We enjoyed the location and comfortable (although very small) room, but it seemed that the service could have been better and the hotel cleaner (the floors stayed dirty throughout our stay).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Marla S,
We value your feedback and thank you for writing a review. It's unfortunate to hear that we did not provide the exceptional service that you've come to expect from us. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered as a result. Your comments provide many opportunities for improving our property and overall guest experience.

We're pleased to know you enjoyed a comfortable stay otherwise and found our location well suited for your travel needs. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to provide a more positive experience in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
0.3 mi away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#12 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
#28 of 38 in Cleveland
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Cleveland University Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Cleveland University Circle

Property: Courtyard Cleveland University Circle
Address: 2021 Cornell Rd, Cleveland, OH 44106-3808
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#14 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Cleveland University Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Cleveland University Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing