We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Well Appointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Cleveland University Circle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Convenient and Well Appointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two days while visiting CWRU. The hotel is now on Campus (area used to be just outside the hospital) and close to a new area, the uptown. The rooms were extremely nice and clean. The hotel has a shuttle that provides a free service within the University Circle, all the way to the Rapid stations, to the museum, to Case or the Cleveland Clinic. There are a couple of amazing restaurants nearby. The hotel appears to be new. I arrived around 1:00 pm. The staff was ok but not friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmanani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Harmanani,
Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent experience at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while visiting CWRU and we're glad our location and complimentary shuttle service added convenience to your stay. Your comments have been shared with our team so we can do a better job of providing the exceptional service you've come to expect from us. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future. Thank again for your review.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    83
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
68
36
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard at University Circle last week to visit Case Western. The hotel seems recently renovated and the location was excellent. We arrived late at night, the check in was friendly, but the first thing I noticed was how dirty the carpeted floors were. The hotel was full of hockey team families and we were not given the rollaway bed that we had asked for weeks earlier. We ended up getting the rollaway bed the next night, but one of our teenage sons had to sleep on sofa cushions the first night. The next morning, we waited a long time for our breakfast. Everyone in the restaurant was very friendly, but it seemed like they were totally unprepared for such a large crowd of people. The valet parkers were also very slow due to the high volume. We enjoyed the location and comfortable (although very small) room, but it seemed that the service could have been better and the hotel cleaner (the floors stayed dirty throughout our stay).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Marla S,
We value your feedback and thank you for writing a review. It's unfortunate to hear that we did not provide the exceptional service that you've come to expect from us. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered as a result. Your comments provide many opportunities for improving our property and overall guest experience.

We're pleased to know you enjoyed a comfortable stay otherwise and found our location well suited for your travel needs. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to provide a more positive experience in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a relatively new hotel with excellent amenities and very friendly, helpful staff. There's a nice lounge/restaurant area with good options for breakfast and dinner, plus a Starbucks next door and several other restaurants within walking distance. They also offer a nice shuttle service to the museum and other spots within a 2-3 mile radius. Overall a wonderful place to stay at a reasonable price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jewelross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
jewelross,
Thank you for your complimentary feedback from your stay with us at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. We're pleased to hear that our friendly staff and excellent amenities made for such a wonderful stay. It's great to know you had an opportunity to explore the area and discover the many dining options that our location has to offer. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the future. Thank you again for your great review.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a great property! Nice, new, smart looking property. Location worked out well for us. My wife loved the room. Located near many restaurants and museums. The only drawback is the mandatory valet parking for overnight stays. Seeing that there is not an option when parking they should include it in the room rate.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank elconquistador765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
elconquistador765,
Thank you for writing a review from your visit to Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. Your feedback is important to us as guest satisfaction is our highest priority. We're thrilled to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We've stayed in Cleveland a few times and decided to try a different neighborhood on this trip. This hotel is just a short drive from Little Italy, the art museum, and several nice parks. The room was clean, modern and spacious... very comfortable and a great value. While I don't love having to pay for valet parking, the service was quick, easy and friendly, and it was comforting to know the car was parked in a secure garage. I'd highly recommend this Courtyard!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JesMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
JesMonaco,
We appreciate you giving our hotel a try on your recent trip to Cleveland, and we thank you for sharing your experience. It's wonderful to hear all the aspects that made for a comfortable stay. Please plan to visit us again at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. Thank you again for your review and recommendations of our great hotel.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I enjoyed my 11 day stay and will most definitely stay there again. Sarah Cord, and Jacob went out of their way to ensure that my requests were given their utmost attention. They were without a doubt concerned with the guests comfort and safety,they personally were interested in the guests' requests and followed up. The hospitality, friendliness, and professionalism of the staff was a pleasant surprise. Amy and Jeffery were courteous, and drove me safely with efficiency and made sure I reached my destination with door to door service ! Overall, my experience was exceptional. THANK YOU for your kindness, I missed my family but the staff made it all OK ! :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
susan g,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your experience with us at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than recognition from our guests on the excellent service delivered during your stay. Our dedicated team of associates strive daily to exceed guest expectations. I look forward to sharing your compliments with our team, and I will make sure Sarah Cord, Jacob, Amy, and Jeffrey all receive special commendations on their outstanding service. Thank you again for writing. We hope to extend our hospitality to you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

First of the room amenities were awesome. High-end, clean and spacious.

Secondly the Front Desk Staff was extremely helpful...especially Jacob. He helped me out of jam by printing a few needed documents for an appointment I had. No questions asked he simply asked "How may I be of service". First Class all the way

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Patrick K,
Thank you for sharing your review and complimentary feedback from your stay with us at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. It's fantastic to hear that our clean accommodations and excellent service made for an enjoyable stay. Our team makes sincere hospitality their priority. I will be certain to pass along your compliments and recognize Jacob with a special commendation for his outstanding service. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Cleveland. Thank you once again for your great review.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
0.3 mi away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#11 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
#27 of 38 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Cleveland University Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Cleveland University Circle

Property: Courtyard Cleveland University Circle
Address: 2021 Cornell Rd, Cleveland, OH 44106-3808
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#14 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Cleveland University Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Cleveland University Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing