We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Funky food in fashionable Cleveland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Fig

Flying Fig
Ranked #40 of 1,814 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: One Block North of West 25th and Lorain
Transit: Steps from the West 25th Street RTA station.
Clinton Twp., Mi.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Funky food in fashionable Cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

If you go to the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame, check this place out. Unique menu. Very delicious. Knowledgable waitstaff. Don't be fooled by the small, outward appearance. Much bigger inside. Drinks are generous. Ambience is warm. Open on a Sunday night...most KEWL .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank darwoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    75
    20
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food in Ohio City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We recently took my parents to Flying Fig on Market Ave. We were looking for great food in a casual environment and could not have been happier with our experience. My father has been talking about the calamari appetizer (a menu special) ever since our visit ("best he's ever had"). The bacon-wrapped dates were delicious - too bad there were only three of them! Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their main dishes - all inventive and delicious! We will definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What No Bread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I really like this restaurant. It is consistently serves good to excellent food. Our last trip was with a Groupon for four people. We had hoped to walk over to the Westside Market after lunch but we ran out of time. I expect we will make it to the Market next time.

I had the burger (always good), two had the salmon and loved it. My partner had the steak entrée. This was not the hanger stake of a past visit and we loved the current offering.

Dessert was a caramel moose? with caramel sauce. Whatever it was it was excellent!

My only disappointment was that bread was no longer served gratis and that they had changed bakers. As I did not order it I do not know the quality. The prior supplier provided the best French bread I have had in Cleveland. I will miss it.

All that said, I will return to the Fig. I do like it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
123 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Awesome brunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was my 4th time here but first time posting about my expierence.

I always want to go for lunch or dinner but I always end up at brunch and couldn't be more then happy.

To start off, I bought the travelzoo.com deal for $35. With that you get a fruit plate to share(grapes, melon, pineapple, apple), two brunch meals of your choice, and 2 alcoholic drinks each. The drinks are priced at $7.50 each so that is $28 right there and worth the price of the coupon.

I had the french toast and it was holy hell damn good. just full of flavors, awesome syrup which I really didnt even need, and strawberry. My g/f got the biscuits and gravy which she lived and I have had before and would agree....very good. Everything I have ever had at brunch JUST TASTES FRESH!

Always look forward to returning. Service also always great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mdm4sfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So rude!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Made a reservation for 8 people to dine before a show at Playhouse Square. It was happy hour and we decided to sit in the bar and have a drink before we ate dinner. We asked the bartender if we could sit in a booth and we took the chips off the bar after asking if we could. The hostess stormed over and grabbed the chips stating that they had "rules" about the chips remaining on the bar and that we could buy some very nice appetizers off of the menu. Drinks were expensive and the whole vibe was unwelcoming. We left without ordering anything, so I can't comment on the food. It's a shame we didn't get to try it! On the other hand, Great Lakes Brewery just across the street was very accommodating and got our business that night.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nnpdiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fig also viewed

 

Been to Flying Fig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing