We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummmmmmmm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Flying Fig

Flying Fig
Ranked #34 of 1,835 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: One Block North of West 25th and Lorain
Transit: Steps from the West 25th Street RTA station.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummmmmmmm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Loved my first trip to the "Fig." We went for lunch this past week. I loved my chicken meatball on a light bed of mashed potatoes and a good amount of broccoli rabe. The flavors blended very well. I would have that again any time. My dinning partner had the steak with rabe and smashed potatoes. While his was good, I preferred mine. But then I am not much of a beef person.

Go early as parking may be difficult during the day. It is near the west-side market and the Ohio City rapid transit stop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nlwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    83
    21
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful atmosphere. My family and I ate here on a Sunday at brunch time. We felt that the choices were very limited. Our waiter was not very knowledgeable. And they were not willing to make changes for vegetarians.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nelli013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous food- great Saturday brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Fabulous lunch. The sausage gravy and biscuits were great- eggs were fantastic. Sandwiches were also delicious. There apple butter is the best!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Eclectic and Excellent ! Don't miss this little gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Was there a few weeks ago with another couple. Had a terrific cheese plate appetizer, best hamburger of my life, and a delicious special seasonal ale. Everyone loved their meal. Great atmosphere and location. We are out a lot, and we will be back to "the Fig".

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went to the Flying Fig upon our B&B owner's recommendation and definitely were not disappointed. We were lucky enough to be in town during Cleveland's Restaurant Week, so my husband ordered from the prix fixe menu (bruschetta, hanger steak, apple crisp) while I ordered the stuffed winter squash.

As a vegetarian, it's hard to find a unique and satisfying dish at restaurants, especially when options are quite limited, but the stuffed winter squash was one of the best vegetarian meals I have had at a restaurant in a very long time. It was cooked to perfection, filling, and satisfying.

Our server, Dave, was welcoming, friendly, and willing to answer all the questions we had about the menu. The ambiance was nice, although the restaurant could be a bit loud at times, but that didn't take away from our dining experience.

I would highly recommend trying out the Flying Fig when you're in town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 000jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fig also viewed

 

Been to Flying Fig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing