We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love, love, love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slyman's Deli

Slyman's Deli
Ranked #2 of 1,822 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love, love, love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

It is just like the sandwich shop on Seinfeld, but friendly! It is just a really cool little place. The ladies waiting the tables are SO friendly and happy and sweet (we didn't find a lot of this in Cleveland.) I got the Reuben Melt - YUMMY! And my husband got the hot dog and finished my reuben :) The sandwiches are monstrous!

We got there at 10:45 or so (they serve breakfast too!) and it wasn't crowded at all. There was a family and two couples at tables. Shortly after we sat down and got our food (very fast) it started filling up. It was all locals so that was cool too.

Highly recommend this place! Rachel Ray, George Bush, Joe Biden (rolls eyes) all have visited too. Great little find!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank yeehawsister4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    135
    22
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Slyman's is a MUST when you visit Cleveland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

When I travel, I want to experience a place. When I eat, I want a meal that evokes the memory of my visit and captures the spirit of the destination. I am confident that nowhere will do that for your visit to Cleveland like Slyman's.

We were visiting for an appointment at Cleveland Clinic and had a few hours to kill. The Cleveland Museum of Art was great! The hospital was impressive. But, Slyman's was unforgettable.

First, the place was packed at lunch hour, and with a reassuring mix of tourists, business types, and blue collar/neighborhood folks. We sat at the lunch counter and the crowds did not stop coming in to grab to-go orders the entire time. It was a great, vibrant atmosphere. Not crowded, but busy. Not loud, but bustling.

Slyman's is the kind of institution that makes its name with heaping piles of its signature dishes. Think Primanti's in Pitt or Kelly's in Boston. In Slyman's case, the specialties of the house are the corned beef sandwiches and the variations on that theme: corned beef melts, pastramis, reubens, etc. The food is really good. A single sandwich is enough to serve a couple.

But, what was most impressive about Slyman's was the people. The entire staff were friendly and engaging. They knew the regulars and the banter was amusing. But, they didn't make us - as tourists - feel out of place. It was as though you were guest starring on an episode of Cheers.

Mo, working the register, could not have been more friendly. He was passionate about his restaurant and their food. Equally important, he was passionate about Cleveland. When he found out that we were visitors to town, he immediately engaged us in conversation about the sites of Cleveland; and, when he found out that we were visiting for an appointment at the hospital, he was a) concerned that we were OK, and b) grateful that we had come to Cleveland for care at his hometown's world class facility. Lastly, Mo sent us off with a Slyman's t-shirt to remember the place and because it was something that he could do to help us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank OTR-WithTheKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too much to eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We went there because we heard they had the best corned beef. It may have not been the best, but it was the biggest. It's a little scary when you walk in, but it's a typical deli. Not the prettiest place but defiantly friendly waitresses that helped us out. The homemade horseradish sauce was perfect!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank debio1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the Venture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Slyman's is off the beaten track, but well worth a taxi ride from downtown to enjoy the deliciously tender corned beef. Breakfast and lunch service only.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best deli in Cleveland ...hands down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

The best deli in Cleveland. I have been going here for 15 years, and will continue to do so. Mo is one of the nicest people you will meet. Try the potato salad, its homemade , and a hidden gem on their menu

Helpful?
2 Thank mattslatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slyman's Deli also viewed

 

Been to Slyman's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing