We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Rueben Sandwich Ever”
Review of Slyman's Deli

Slyman's Deli
Ranked #2 of 1,841 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Rueben Sandwich Ever”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband stopped for lunch on a recent Saturday. The sandwiches are massive and delicious. You pay about $12 for a sandwich and a pickle, so it is not cheap, but the service and food were both excellent. It is not in an easy to get to neighborhood and it is very busy during the week, so maybe a trip on a Saturday is a good way to try it out. I don't think they have evening hours.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poem19girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    147
    26
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Euclid, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Corned Beef”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great corned beef sandwiches. Soooo good!!! A little pricey, but worth it (I suppose). More than you would pay on average. Pretty big sandwiches. I went one day on my 12:00pm lunch break. We had to wait a while because they were sooooo crowded during that time. I would advise going during the low peak hours to avoid the long wait. great staff. Friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsSettles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senoia, GA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge and delicious!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The sandwiches here are enormous. But they're good, stuffed high with meat (and cheese). This is a workingman's place for lunch.
Get here early. And check the website for their days and hours of operation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylCrT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome sandwich”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Out of the way deli. Small place with huge sandwiches. First stop in a two day trip to
Cleveland. We were seated fast and we ordered the corned beef sandwich and my wife ordered the pastrami. Had it at our table in 5 minutes and they were HUGE. We probably could have shared one but it was worth having the leftovers in the hotel. If you go downtown this place is a must stop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Deli Food”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The reviews I read more than lived up to expectations. The corned beef melt and roast beef sandwich were wonderful. The were so big you could share. No need for side items.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigers8932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Slyman's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing