We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great food!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sokolowski's University Inn

Sokolowski's University Inn
Ranked #13 of 1,832 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Polish, European, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were in Cleveland for the day and were looking for a quick lunch. I saw this restaurant on Yelp, which was close to the Christmas Story house that we wanted to see, so we decided to eat here. We were very pleased with their food and service. The food is already prepared, so you just pick what you want and they bring it to the table for you. Even though the food is already cooked and in a warming tray, I had their pork cutlet special, which they call street chicken and it was delicious (not dry at all). Their red cabbage and pierogis were the best I ever had at a restaurant and the portions are humongous for the price. U can't go wrong here and I would most definitely go back if ever in Cleveland.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkichikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    100
    24
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medina,Ohio USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Taste of Eastern Europe in Cleveland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you want to experience some of the best dishes of eastern Europe, you must try some of their delicious food. You pick your food in a cafeteria type setting but there is a bus boy to help take your tray to your table of choice. They make the best stuffed cabbage, homemade mashed potatoes, sour red cabbage, pierogies, and more. There is a room where a talented gentleman plays lovely tunes on the piano. Wonderful experience that I recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Almost a Five”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Since we were in Cleveland to go to the R and R Hall of Fame we had to eat here based on the facts that my husband is of Polish descent and Michael Symon said that the pierogies are the best thing he ever ate.
We ordered the stuffed cabbage and the pierogies. The stuffed cabbage tasted just like the ones my Mother-in-Law made. The potato-cheese filling in the pierogies was the best I have ever tasted. The problem is that some of the pierogies had too little filling and one of mine had none.
If all of the pierogies had the amount of filling that my first one had, I would have given five stars.
Alas, they did not. No Filling=No Five Stars

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Authentic old world cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

If my grandmother had a restaurant, this would be it. Wonderful stuffed cabbage! Not recommended for calorie counters. Just have to enjoy yourself for 1 night and diet tomorrow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“ONLY order ethnic food when at Sokolowski's!!!!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Four of us went to this ethnic (Polish) restaurant after a friend highly recommended it. After researching it, I knew that I didn't want anything too heavy so I opted for either a salad bar main entree or "Cheeseburger and fries" (no cheese, please), while everyone else had a full-course meal. The cafeteria-style service line was okay. I'm sure many people like the serve-yourself locations because there's no tipping involved, but my experience went from bad to worse. I ordered the hamberger/fries and had to go ask about it after most of my friends had nearly finished their dinner. The so-called "special order" took forever to make and was not done to my liking, nor did either item taste good. I asked for ketchup and mustard and the gentleman who brought out my entree never returned with my request. The meatloaf and stuffed cabbage entrees looked pretty good. The pierogi's were floating in a buttery looking substance, which was way-to-greasy for my friend's taste, let alone his arteries. I know that many people love this type of restaurant, but it's just not for me. I can only say that "When in Rome, eat like the Romans do!"...and DO NOT order anything that does not follow the ethnic food traditions. That was my first and last time there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sokolowski's University Inn also viewed

 
Cleveland, OH
 

Been to Sokolowski's University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing