We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Cleveland Spot!”
Review of Dervish Grill Tremont - CLOSED

Dervish Grill Tremont
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
152 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Another Great Cleveland Spot!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Trip Advisor reviews led us to Dervish Grill in Tremont. We are grateful for this site because there are many places in our hometown where we haven't visited.

The Dervish Grill is a terrific spot! We dined outside on a gorgeous Cleveland afternoon.
The pita is thicker, soft, served warm and comes with a cucumber and barbecue dipping sauces. The hummus was delicious. We ordered a second order of hummus to take to a party.

The lamb kebab was tender, well seasoned, and very satisfying. The chicken alaba was flavorful and tender.

The Dervish Grill sits between two Cleveland women shops that are worth visiting. Across the street is Lilly's Handmade Chocolates. This Tremont neighborhood feels alive and it makes us Cleveland proud!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
133 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Outstanding and (Mostly) Guilt-free, Great for Vegetarians!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Dined here for the first time and definitely will be going back often---started with the incredibly delicious appetizer platter which came with hummus, baba ganoush, tabbouleh, lebne, eggplant and their phenomenal ezme. The bread which came with it was a thicker turkish bread as opposed to the pita-like bread you usually get---was delicious all the same. My husband had the ground lamb kabob and I had the falafel----everything was perfect and yummy and we loved it. Service was great and the atmosphere is small but very pleasant---nice contemporary Turkish music as opposed to the usual loud belly-dancing type tunes. They have a considerable list of bottled Turkish beers as well as a varied wine list. Had no room for dessert but would've loved to try the rice pudding, which the server said does not include rose water (a pet peeve of ours in some Mid-Eastern desserts) A wonderful dining experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank blndgenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Definitely a Turkish delight”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Tucked away at the far end of Professor St. in trendy Tremont, Dervish Grill offers tasty Mediterranean treats for a fair price. Decor includes some authentic Turkish items too. They have delicious grilled meats, especially the Adana kebab. My favorite is their homemade "ezme", kind of a chopped relish made with tomato, herbs, peppers and walnuts. Absolutely yummy with their thin pita bread. They offer carryout call ahead service too, and it's pretty fast. Parking is though, mostly on the street. They have a fully liquor license but only for inside and the side patio. Strange, but local ordinances won't let them serve alcohol on their front sidewalk patio, as it's not enclosed and directly linked to the building. Goofy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank reniii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small Space but Very Good Food”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

You'll need your GPS to find this Turkish spot, but it's well worth it. Staff is friendly and capable, menu broad enough, and food delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable atmosphere”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The food was wonderful, especially liked the appetizer platter, which was a meal in itself. What made the dining experience extra special were the owners. They were so friendly and did everything to make sure you enjoyed your food. It was almost like visiting their home. They want to share their culture and food with you. Really nice experience. If I lived near there I would go often. I will definitely try to go each time I visit Cleveland!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank museumcurator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dervish Grill Tremont also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing