We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Integration of art and architecture” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument

Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument
Ranked #19 of 175 things to do in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Integration of art and architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We visited Cleveland's Public Square not really knowing anything about this monument. However, since it was open when we passed by, and the bronze sculptures outside were quite remarkable, we went inside. The monument is incredibly ornate on the interior, with a surprising amount of color. Stained glass windows, bronze reliefs, carved stone panels, and inlaid floors -- the architect conceived of everything, and while the subject is sober, there is nonetheless a kind of Victorian gaiety about it. I believe the monument is accessible for the disabled, as there is a platform lift outside.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyMunching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    72
    27
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
184 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“surprise gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We walked here not realizing how important this 120 year old monument is. Lucky for us it was open when we arrived and were able to walk around. We are very glad we did and if you are in the area please consider to stop by and tour, even if for only 10 minutes. We were very impressed of the continued effort to maintain this monument in such good shape and with such care.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GroovyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Another gem in downtown Cleveland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

This 116 year old monument is beautiful, both in what it represents as well as the condition of the monument. Unfortunately, since we went in October, we weren't able to go inside the monument. It is open for viewing from Memorial Day to Labor Day. We plan to go back during those few summer months to see the interior. (I've been told it is well worth it.)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A quick "Must See" in Cleveland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

A very interesting monument located on Public Square in downtown Cleveland that can be seen in 15-30 minutes. Its free to enter and has all of the names of sailors and soldiers from Cuyahoga county that served in the civil war. There are life size sculptures of many important figures from that time period, including Abraham Lincoln, Ulysses S. Grant, and many others. It's worth a look if you're visiting downtown Cleveland.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Underwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olean, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Free Admission - Pay your respects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was down the block from our hotel. Free admission and an amazing tribute to the fallen of this county. We visited on Memorial Day, which was appropriate. The guide was pleasant and informative. All branches of the service are represented and there are artifacts from the war as well. Nice stained glass windows, and bronze frieze wall sculptures inside. Amazing statuary outside. The Old Stone Church is just across the street, but not open the day we visited. A great piece of history to see.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument also viewed

 

Been to Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing