We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best kept secret...awesome.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cleveland Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best kept secret...awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Stay here! We reserved a room with two bunk beds and a full bed. The bathrooms were in the hall and shared by the whole floor. Everything was clean and organized. We checked in late and picked up sheets on our way in from the front. Took the stairs (no elevator) to the third floor and nested for the night. There were three bathrooms in the hall and all were clean and locked from the inside. On the third floor was a full kitchen that could be used by the guests and lots of "hang out" space. On the roof was a great city viewing area. Just a couple of blocks away was the West Market and that in itself was worth the trip.
We would highly recommend this place for laid back travelers and touring bands or people checking out Cleveland for a possible long term stay. Parking right across the street!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank pwaystraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    16
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
19
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

This "hostel" is 2 years old, modern, clean, quiet, staffed with great people, has private rooms with and without baths, has parking, is surrounded with great restaurants and brew pubs and a block from the west-side market and all sorts of public transportation.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank karlexing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

A nice pleasant resting place in Cleveland. Considering it is a hostel you know
what your going to get. Here, it was clean, well appointed, and close to downtown and
located directly in Ohio City -a nice neighborhood. Everything worked here and the staff was helpful and have nice manners.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherrybowl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I have stayed in some great hotels all over the world,my stay at the Cleveland Hostel was one of the best experiences I have ever had. Thank you Mark for such a great place. This area is THE best place to be.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cfoxhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Greeted by two wonderful people. The place is clean. It is convienent to downtown and the parking is just across the street. There are good restaurants and breweries close. The room provided a decent (not great) bed and basically what would be in a dorm room. The place was quiet even on a Saturday night. The second floor has an excellent kitchen and common area and the roof has grill. We chose the close restaurants. This is a great value for those on a budget. Free parking and Wi-fi are a plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayB1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great location and within walking distance to the Indians game, although a long walk, about a mile. We booked a private room that had its own bathroom so it was basically a hotel room inside a hostel. Very basic, no tv, no fridge, just a bed and a bath but hey, its a hostel.Very affordable and the owner, Mark I think, was super friendly as well as the girl at the desk. Located near the West Side Market and several bars, restaurants, and my favorite.....breweries. Great Lakes, Market and Nano Breweries are all a short walk away. And I hear more are in the works. We stayed 4 nights and the only complaint I had was that we booked room 34 and was put in room 33 which was right next to the stairs, oh yeah, there are no elevators also, so prepare for that. We had our 20 month old with us so the stairs got a little tiring but it would not stop us from staying again. On the roof is a little balcony with a beautiful view of the city and a great place to wind down with a drink or two. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Cleveland.

Room Tip: Its a hostel so most of the time you share everything, bath, kitchen, and possibly the room with oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingBowler185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
375 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great location..very clean.Privite rooms also.We had a privite room.very basic but clean. Ohio city and market right there.Nice kitchen and rooftop.Prices are good also.We went to the indians game and just walked over the bridge (long) but took about 15 min. from the hostel.many great dining choices and brewpubs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
1.4 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
8.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland Hostel

Property: The Cleveland Hostel
Address: 2090 W 25th St, Cleveland, OH 44113-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hostel is housed in an historic building in Cleveland's vibrant Ohio City Neighborhood with restaurants, shops, breweries and the fabulous West Side Market right at your doorstep. With numerous bus lines and a stop on the red line train just a block away it is easy to get anywhere in the city. We offer shared and private rooms, a large fully equipped kitchen, common areas, and amazing views of the city from the roof top deck. Our staff are well traveled, friendly and helpful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Cleveland Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hostel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing