We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Folks”
Review of The Black Pig

The Black Pig
Ranked #85 of 1,843 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bridge Avenue
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly Folks”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It's not so easy to find a good place that's open in Cleveland on a Sunday night. If you want good drinks and straightforward menu, give this a try. It's right near the West Side Market, so it's relatively easy to find. Daily specials are classic French bistro dishes, and brunch menu all day on Sundays. We enjoyed it and will add it to our Cleveland restaurant list.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mngirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    31
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
356 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Another great Cleveland restaurant!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a treat! The braised pork belly appetizer is delicious and they have some interesting cocktails to go with it. I tried the "Jolie Dame" which was light and refreshing. The pork tenderloin was incredible as well. The staff and their service was friendly and professional.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JrnyJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice new choice in Downtown Cleveland”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Black Pig is a new restaurant in the trendy area of Cleveland known as Ohio City. The decor is what you would expect from an older building with high ceilings and lots of wood and brick. You will find a very large bar as you enter with the dinner seating in the adjacent room which also includes the kitchen. Overall we were very pleased with the friendliness of the staff, prompt service and quality of food. We elected for the chiefs sampling which, after you discuss your likes/dislikes with the chief, it is a five course dinner. Very creative and just the right amount of food. As you may expect most of the entrees are pork based. The only disappointment (for lack of a better word) was the wine selection is limited but being a new venture this may come with time.
I would recommend The Black Pig for an alternative to the Cleveland dining seen.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nongagkram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Birthday Dinner at The Black Pig”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate here for his birthday. Overall we had a really nice time. Waitress was attentive and the restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere. Food came quickly and was delicious! I had a pork chop that was a very nice cut of meat and prepared well. It came with a rustic mashed potatoes, sautéed carrots and Brussel sprouts. My husband had the Ohio beef entree that came with filet medallions and braised short rib. That short rib was so so good! We plan to return and try the chef's tasting menu next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank burningrivergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and service”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The appetizers were amazing and hard to decide on so we ordered four for three people. They did not dissapoint, and actually the rabbit was amazing, as were the mussels. The main course was perfect and we all tried eachothers and were equally impressed. The desert was the only item that was not amazing, but it was fine, so no complaints. Go for all the appetizers and skip desert is my suggestion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Black Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing