We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Right At Cleveland Clinic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Right At Cleveland Clinic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you are visiting Cleveland Clinic, this is the best option for you. A nice hotel right in the middle of the Clinic facilities. Most of the guests seem to be visiting the Clinic. If you don't have any business with the Cleveland Clinic, this is somewhat away from rest of the activity in Cleveland, and may not be your best option. The hotel is well maintained, and for my stay, I did not find the concerns raised by some other reviewers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dadoc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear dadoc001,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    143
    58
    20
    22
See reviews for
107
85
33
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We loved our stay here. Our room was spacious. Everything was very clean. The mornings were very enjoyable with breakfast in the club lounge. Manya was very attentive. She made sure that everything was taken care of. Thank you Manya!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexibaby6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear lexibaby6,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We appreciate your wonderful remarks regarding the service you received from Manya, we will pass on your kind words to her. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jekyll Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

our 1st room was filthy! White coverlet/sheet on bed was dirty, carpet looked as if it had poop stains! Management moved us to an other floor. That room was some better. Will never stay here again!!!! Only upside is the fact that it is a part of the Cleveland Clinic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JekyllGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear JekyllGal,

Thank you very much for letting us know your thoughts regarding your stay with us. It is only with guest feedback that we’re able to provide superior guest service worthy of our AAA Four Diamond designation. With that said, our management team would like to discuss your comments with you personally. Please email me at ashley.sewell@ihg.com at your earliest convenience. I look forward to hearing from you soon!

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed there also 3 years ago and it was a nightmare, but this time and last time we didn’t have a choice because my mom was in the hospital.
The night that we arrived, I opened the bed and it was full of blood! I swear all the sheets with blood, but since we traveled 8 hours to get there I didn’t call so I slept on the other bed.
The next day in the morning I went told the guy from de Reception and he apologized and told me that its going to be fixed that day.
I came back at night, and the bed was the same!! They didn’t change anything, not even the towels, or sheets, anything!
I called again and someone from Housekeeping came and told me that someone else supposed to make that room, and then the Housekeeping Manager came into my room and those 2 started to fight.
My room telephone never worked, it was disconnected at all.
And since the first day I left a coffee cup empty, they never washed it o changed it.
Is the worst Hotel I stayed in my whole life...please dont go unless you like to sleep with blood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaquiKamkhaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear RaquiKamkhaji,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the InterContinental Hotel Cleveland. As you have already spoken with our Executive Housekeeper, I am disappointed that despite our efforts we could not resolve your issues prior to your post. We take great pride in our guest satisfaction, and I am saddened you left so discontented. None of the events you have described are up to InterContinental standards, and I sincerely regret that this past visit has ruined your impression of our hotel and staff.

I hope that you would give us an opportunity to readdress the matter by contacting the hotel directly so that we can better assist you. While you stated your intention not to return, I hope you will reconsider and give us the chance to change your impression of our hotel. I am confident if you returned you would have a more memorable and favorable visit.

Warm regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at the Intercontinental for 2 days while visiting the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Very modern and large hotel with all the conveniences - restaurants, gym, pool, etc. The staff were very accommodating and nice.

It is located right next to Cleveland clinic. There is not much around the hotel in terms of restaurants, etc. However, the quality of food at the hotel's restaurant was the equivalent that you would get at a top restaurant. Excellent breakfast and dinner.

You can take limo/taxi service from hotel to downtown Cleveland where the R&R Hall of Fame is located. However, it was pricey so instead took our own car. Hotel parking fee is pricey.

Room Tip: Inform front desk if you plan to use the mini bar to store your own items. I understand that it uses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IluvHoratio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear lluvHoratio,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback of our property while visiting the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. We take great pride in preparing world-class cuisine using high quality, fresh ingredients and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience.

Your post mentions a pool at our facility and I just want to point out for other readers that we unfortunately do not have a pool on-site but guests have access to the pool at the Cleveland Clinic’s W.O. Walker Center.

We look forward to serving you again soon on your next visit to Cleveland!

Kind regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
364 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Spent two nights here while attending a college alumni event. I usually don't stay in Downtown Cleveland since it's a good hour from Oberlin, where I was attending meetings, but my husband wanted to see the Museum and spend some time in the city. We found the hotel very nice overall. The front desk upgraded us to a club level room at check in, which was unexpected and very well appreciated. The club room had some nice snacks and a good breakfast. The desk staff in the club room could not have been kinder. The room was spacious, comfortable, and plush, with a great TV and a fantastic bathroom. The furniture is a bit scuffed and there is wear and tear in more than a few places. Housekeeping was prompt but the room never felt totally clean. This is a heavily trafficked hotel adjacent to the Cleveland clinic in a rather deserted part of town. The hotel is big, but never felt crowded despite hosting a convention while we were there. If you have a car, use the parking lot across the street (up to $10 daily) and skip the valet. Cabs are hard to find there and the dispatcher at the driveway wasn't able to get us one, and ended up offering us the house limo, at a price we didn't want to pay so we just called one ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STYLEONTHEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear STYLEONTHEGO,

Thank you so much for your review of the InterContinental Hotel Cleveland. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is always nice to have the opportunity to treat our guests to a complimentary upgrade and we’re glad that you were pleasantly surprised. We do apologize for your disappointment with the housekeeping service and that you felt the furniture was worn. Beginning this November, all of our guestrooms will be renovated and we would love to show you what we've done! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Excellent. Manya and all the people working in the concierge floor are wonderful. I'm a visiting physician at the Cleveland Clinic, and I can highly recommend this hotel. The facility is great, and the friendly service is wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulDavidSanJose_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear PaulDavidSanJose_CA,

It's wonderful to hear that you had an excellent stay at the InterContinental Cleveland, thank you for sharing your experience! Your accolades will be shared with our Club Floor staff. We look forward to having the pleasure to serve you again soon.

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
#27 of 38 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
0.9 mi away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#10 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Property: InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
Address: 9801 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44106-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#13 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#13 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing