We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderful place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Was there for an April conference. They have the best conference center I have ever seen. Everyone working there is friendly, helpful and seem genuinely happy to help you. I stayed on a club level floor which was fantastic! The concierges there went out of their way to answer questions or get you anything you needed. Aline was especially wonderful! Food in Table 45 and the concierge club was great, room service was fast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelliwynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear, Kelliwynne,

We are happy to know you had a great experience at the hotel during your conference. Thank you for recognizing Aline as especially wonderful and I will share your accolades with all of our employees.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again.
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    140
    56
    20
    21
See reviews for
104
79
33
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was the first time I stayed at an Intercontinental. The occasion was the hospitalization of both parents, at the Cleveland Clinic, and I needed a place nearby. The Hotel is actually connected to the Clinic, via a skyway, and very convenient. Also, there is a Cleveland Clinic rate.

I found that while costlier than say a Hampton Inn, the service and stay experience was accordingly better. Service was top notch, as witnessed by our experiences. I stayed here probably a couple of weeks. Any requests we made from time to time - change the sheets, e.g. - were done and they checked to be sure they were done. The women cleaning the rooms were so nice and did not disturb at all, were tactful and always had a smile. We had a family friend, a young man a couple months shy of 21 who works for us, who stayed one night. Apparently there is a rule at hotels about being 21 - the manager immediately smoothed the way for us, no problem, as we needed him with us and had been staying there a number of days. Even the guests in the hotel elevator were solicitious! Whether with myself on my own, or asking after my Mum after his discharge, in her wheelchair.

Yes, it is a bit pricier...but you get what you pay for. Highly recommended. I understand that the restaurant has a good reputation, but never got around to trying the fare.

Only change I would make is to ask that the Hotel be clearly marked from the Skyway side, which it generally is not. This made finding the Hotel troublesome at first. It would also be great if there were an intercom there, for the Hotel to buzz guests through after 9pm.

Room Tip: Ask for the best rate. I was here using the Cleveland Clinic patient discount, as my parents were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpiroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear dpiroch,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experiences at the hotel. We are certainly pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel services and our friendly staff. We would love to have you as our guest again.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Was there in April for a conference. Easily the nicest facilty I've ever experienced for a business trip. They really know how to add the little touches that make it special. Also, their staff were very accomodating - nothing was too much trouble. Very convenient to the Cleveland Clinic campus. Would stay there again anytime!

Room Tip: Ask to be on side NOT facing the Cleveland Clinic - the non-stop ambulances and medistat choppers ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FroggyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear FroggyLJ,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel while attending your conference in April. Your comments will be shared with our staff. We would love to have you as our guest again should you need to travel to Cleveland again.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just stayed, and am going to stay again. Very convenient with car pickup from the airport that you can have charged to your room, prices competitive to taxi. Convenient with covered walkway to hosp. Staff friendly and accommodating.
Food in hotel restaurant very good, way above average for a hotel. Room service was fast, and food arrived hot.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicafromMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear MonicafromMiami,

Thank you for sharing your experiences during your recent visit. We certainly appreciate your comments and have shared them with the hotel assoicates. We would love to have you as our guest again.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I'm at the hotel right now. The first thing we noticed was that there was only valet parking, then we went to our room and noticed that there was neither an iPhone dock or a cd player. Also, there were no shuttles to the r&r hall of fame (something it said it had on the site). The room was dirty and didn't have shampoo and the conditioner had feces on it, seriously. The staff was okay. No free wifi, and apparently there wasn't a pool because it was connected to a clinic and they didn't want you to get sick (by keeping poop on your conditioner bottles), just horrible.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Kram K,

Thank you for the information you provided regarding your recent stay. We appreciate and value all feedback we receive and we are very disappointed to hear about your recent experience. The InterContinental Hotel is accustomed to providing the level of service and luxury for all of our guests. We apologize for any inconveniences you have experienced.

We hope to restore your confidence in the InterContinental Brand and the InterContinental Hotel and stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Cleveland. Once again thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Elegant surroundings in the middle of the sprawling Cleveland Clinic, right across the street from the Cancer Research Center. The service was 4 star as was the property. Very well maintained - there's no hint of it's age or need for updates. Comfortable beds, large bathrooms with separate shower/bathtub. Had a fantastic view of the rear gardens from window. The only restaurant in the hotel was a sushi restaurant but walk next door to the clinic and there's a Starbucks, Subway, Au Bon Pain and lovely gift shop.

Room Tip: On the back with a view of the garden - great sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitzi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Mitzi H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the InterContinental Hotel. We certainly take great pride in offering excellent customer service to all of our guests.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Hotel InterContinental always makes our stay at the Cleveland Clinic go more pleasantly as well as more convenient. The concierge lounge is particularly pleasant & Ms.Antoinette Peterson is a charming & helpful hostess.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnroberts_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear johnroberts_12,

Thank you for sharing your positive experiences at the hotel during your recent trip to Cleveland. We have a wonderful team at the hotel and thank you for pointing out a few that made your experience Amazing.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Property: InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
Address: 9801 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44106-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#13 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#13 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing