We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Side Market”
Review of West Side Market

West Side Market
Ranked #3 of 187 things to do in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1912, this thriving public market offers fresh produce, meat, dairy products and a delicious variety of prepared foods.
OFallon Mo
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“West Side Market”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was a fun place to experience. They had lots of produce, fresh meats, breads, pasta, grains, spices, and cheeses. There was a nice parking lot in the back of the buildings.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rkalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,376
    777
    176
    45
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A must visit for all foodies!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place is awesome! Historic market with dozens of vendors, with meats, cheeses, baked goods, produce, etc.Our first visit was on a Saturday a couple years ago, and it was extremely busy with difficult parking situation, but worth it! Went on a Monday this visit and much lighter crowd. This is a mecca for all things food...if you are from out of town, better have a big cooler in your car! So many goodies! And dont miss grabbing a Steve's gyro, huge and delicious!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daddin458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Junction, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Our second trip to the Market - still one of the best.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our second trip to the Market cam in August, with beautiful weather letting us dine alfresco in the small park across the street, was just as enjoyable as the first. While we headed for the noodle place featured in Andrew Zimmern's show, it was close - good lick for us since we ended up back at one of the best falafel stands around - Maha's - for the second time. Very, very good falafel and Middle Eastern dishes. And this time we brought along a portable cooler, and brought back goodies from J and J Czuhraj Meats ( including Hungarian kielbasa) and the Cheese Shop (excellent tommes from France and the US), as well as fresh bread. Take a cooler, eat some there, and take some home. And take the time to eat up above the market on the tiles shelf at one end, and maybe desert in the park across the street.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donquixote218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A traditional market experience”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Visited here in the winter of 2012. I had heard mention of this place numerous times, there aren't many attractions in Ohio but apparently this was one that you had to see. Sadly the experience wasn't amazing, whether that was due to the hype or not. I can only imagine that the majority who are fascinated by the place are just not used to a large open market. But if you have experienced many open markets then this place will be a common place to you.

To try and not sound too negative, there are good points. Albeit you can say this of any marketplace, there is a large selection. If you enjoy locally grown and produced food then you will certainly enjoy what they have to offer, my personal favorite was the pasta section though they have various meets, cheeses and anything else you could want.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mdcdeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We Shall Return!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We purposely waited until the last day of our trip to visit West Side Market. We took the advice from others, and arrived around 8 am on Saturday morning. Parking was not a problem. My husband went out an hour and a half later to put some things in the car, and he said the lots were full!
We were quite overwhelmed when we got there because of the sheer size of the market! But, everyone was very friendly and helpful!
The prices and variety were excellent! We bought steak at Foster's Meats and ate it that night. Our son said it was the best steak he ever had! We bought bread and bagels from Mediterra bakery and so far, everything has been yummy! The people selling produce were quite the salespeople! We bought so many fresh, delicious, fruits and vegetables and got some great deals! We can't wait to visit again!
If you are ever in Cleveland, visit West Side Market!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RCG71093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Side Market also viewed

 

Been to West Side Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing