We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food items”
Review of West Side Market

West Side Market
Ranked #3 of 183 things to do in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1912, this thriving public market offers fresh produce, meat, dairy products and a delicious variety of prepared foods.
Northfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“food items”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

It is a great historical marketplace. My family has gone there many times throughout the years. Gramps worked there as a boy and young man. All the venders are top shelf but family priced. A wonderful place to mingle and smell that smell!

Helpful?
Thank erieshark13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,279
    736
    167
    42
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mentor
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I wish I lived closer, this was always so fun to go to when I lived in Cleveland heights and wanted to cook a random dinner, or just have some of the freshest veggies around!! Everyone is so nice, and it smells so wonderful! HIGHLY recommend

Helpful?
Thank kathyLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Fresh fruits and veggies XXL ! Prices were so cheap. Everyone is friendly. Bought some peirogis and they were braided at the top like a Michigan pasty. Bread so soft it melts it your mouth. Was not a fan of the cake pops/truffles. Raw dough... wish they told me before I bought them.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank breeze1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“AWSOME”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Absolutly an excellant place to get really fresh fruit and veggies...Every kind of fresh meat ever made....A must see

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“At least 5 generations of shopping at West Side Market”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Steeped in Cleveland tradition, I shop here with my family as my grandparents & great-grandparents did. Meats, cheeses, pasta, seafood, baked goods, produce, deli, spices & sauces - all fresh! I like to go to my regular vendors and also try something new from others. There is so very much diverse offerings to choose from. You can dash in for something specific or you can browse leisurely. You can spend a little money or you can spend a lot here and always come away with the satisfaction of getting exactly what you want, the amount that you want and not worry about the quality of the items. The vendors are always pleasant and knowledgeable of their goods. The fruit / vegetable vendors are always offering deals - this is the ideal place to stock up on fresh produce. There are places to eat within the West Side Market so no worries about shopping on an empty stomach. Behind the market there are large parking lots, free, with easy access to the main building and the vegetable building. This is the perfect place for shopping for dinner or shopping for a big occasion. While you're there - look for the steps up to the balcony for a full view of the market and to take in the architecture. If you live outside of Cleveland, the West Side Market is easily accessible from the 25th Street exit of the highway.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Side Market also viewed

 

Been to West Side Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing