We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Largest theatre district outside of NYC!”
Review of PlayhouseSquare

PlayhouseSquare
Ranked #14 of 183 things to do in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Playhouse Square Center is the nation's largest performing arts complex outside of New York City. Located in the heart of Cleveland's Theater District, Playhouse Square serves as host to over 1.1 million guests annually and offers the best of Broadway, dance, concerts, family shows, comedians, plays and more.
Cleveland OH & Wallace NC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Largest theatre district outside of NYC!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

As Clevenders we are somewhat spoiled by having 5 first class theatre venues. Our friends in NY complain about how it takes an hour and a half to travel to "the city" to catch a show. Wow, we live 25 miles away and canbe there and in our seats in 45 minutes, with drinks in hand. We see shows that ate straight off Broadway, that our NYC friends can't get tix to! One drawback, plenty of fab restaurants in Cleveland, not too many in walking g distance to playhouse square.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoveForty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    57
    11
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Akron
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Playhouse square is a wonderful gem in Cleveland. The staff are wonderful, the building is beautiful, and parking nearby. I have gone to plays, concert and dance events and will continue to frequent Playhouse Square

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappieSimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyed State Theater”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My daughter and friend attended a concert a few weeks ago at the State Theater. They enjoyed the concert with second row seats. I stayed nearby (could see the entrance from hotel room) and walked them to the door. What beautiful theaters and area. I hope nearby residents are taking advantage of what they have access to. I wish we lived closer to attend more shows.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank gkatsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Key Bank series is a winner”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Not to be missed if you like theater. The shows are great, plenty of parking nearby, sometimes as little as $5.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PAMPAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Theaters are so special”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

These collection of theaters that comprise Playhouse Square are all fabulous old architectural masterpieces! The one we went to was under renovation but they made it easy to find our way through the construction. There really isn't a bad seat in the house!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PlayhouseSquare also viewed

 

Been to PlayhouseSquare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing