We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cutting edge independent or chain restaurant-in-drag?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hodges

Hodges
Ranked #78 of 1,831 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East 6th
Transit: Euclid corridor line just a few short steps away.
Description: Chef was runner-up in food truck reality show
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
184 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Cutting edge independent or chain restaurant-in-drag?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Pretty creative and interesting cooking. Crostini with chorizo, mussels w/curry sauce and others were well executed. The food tends to be a bit rich, but the crowd loves it. The bar has room for improvement. Extra large ice cubes in mixed drinks, no martini glasses for martinis and a waiter without any knowledge of the beers that were on tap were all a disappointment.

Who would've thought that this place, the outgrowth of a food truck success, would transform into just another restaurant owned by the Gamekeeper's Tavern owners? I hope they let the down-to-earth folks who created this concept stay in charge !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Irreverent-in-Cleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    67
    33
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California, USA
Level Contributor
188 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Blue crab hushpuppies were amazing! As was the shrimp and grits, cornbread, tator tots (complimentary), kale salad, etc!!! If I'd have had more time I'd have gone back for another meal. I love it when I stumble upon a great restaurant and Hodge's is just that. Did I mention the service? Well, it was superb and the food arrived quickly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
332 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great outdoor dining for reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The weather was perfect for an outdoor meal and happened across this restaurant. Greeted by the bartender and seated promptly. He knew the wine list and the menu guiding selection of a wonderful wine and a tasty entree. Service was just right allowing time to enjoy the complimentary snacks and cornbread. Great walleye with sides recommended by the bartender that were top notch. A great experience all the way including that great weather outdoors.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sometrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Was told about this restaurant by a co-worker. Walleye is still in season and I take advantage of eating walleye whenever I can. I have to say this was the bet I've ever had. Pan fried with no breading. Light crispy outside. If you get to downtown Cleveland don't miss Hodges.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony0757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
534 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
“Maybe We Visited on an "Off" Night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hodge's is part of the Driftwood Restaurant Group, which also owns Washington Place (in Cleveland), 87 West at Crocker Park (in Westlake), The Orchard House (in Brunswick), and the Welshfield Inn (in Burton). The Group currently offers a little passport-like book in which you can collect visas (stamps) after dining at a particular restaurant. If you receive enough stamps, you can earn rewards like free appetizers and desserts. It seems like a fun way to encourage dining around. Hodge's is open for lunch and dinner Monday through Friday and serves dinner on Saturday and Sunday. This restaurant occupies the space of the former Zinc Bistro. Chef Chris Hodgson also owns the food trucks called Dim and Dem Sum and Hodge Podge. The restaurant accepts reservations through the Open Table system.

The restaurant space is large, with seating indoors on two levels as well as at the long bar. The kitchen is open, so you can watch the chefs work. The bathrooms are not within the restaurant; you must navigate the office/residential building to reach them. The outdoor space is lovely, with another large bar, table seating, and lounge seating, including a firepit. Unfortunately, it was both rainy and humid on the night that we dined, so we ate indoors, but the patio looked fantastic if the weather is right!

Our food was not impressive. Our snacks (hanky pankies [chorizo and cheese atop a crostini] and deviled eggs) arrived at the same time as our appetizers (salad and corn bisque). The restaurant serves complimentary amuse bouche of potato puffs with aioli, as well as cornbread served in a skillet. Our entrees took well over an hour to arrive, despite the restaurant being rather empty. (The kitchen staff seemed overwhelmed and/or inexperienced.) One entree of johnnycakes was inedible (basically raw pancakes), but the other main dish (pork shank with crispy onions and baked beans) was fantastic! Service was terribly slow, but our server was pleasant and did all she could to give us a good experience there. The bill arrived in a little red envelope entitled "THE DAMAGES", which we thought was cute.

We wish that we had a better experience at this restaurant, but we seem to have visited on an off night, perhaps because of the holiday weekend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffnfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hodges also viewed

 

Been to Hodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing