We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great new year's eve dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soho Chicken + Whiskey

Soho Chicken + Whiskey
Ranked #51 of 1,831 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In Ohio City
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A great new year's eve dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our group of six had dinner on new year's eve this year at Soho. Our friends live in Ohio City and are regulars. The food was excellent. Other than a rabbit bone shard in my mac and cheese, I have no complaints. The wine pairings were decent and a good value. While the food was hearty (and perfect for the snowy weather), we did not leave stuffed. While I only tried the new year's eve tasting menu, I would strongly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davis1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    33
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MICHIGAN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Solid Foodie-Southern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went mid-day on a Saturday and found the service to be stellar and friendly. Chicken and waffles, pulled pork sandwich and the fried green tomatoes were tremendous. Also an excellent value....would most definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JMLMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good , Not Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had the catfish and fried chicken. The fried chicken was very good, the catfish was okay. We love the bread they give before dinner, it has slipped and it is just okay. This visit has been a step done from the previous visits that has been so amazing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
362 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“tasty brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Like the Southern vibe and menu. Thought there might be big changes on favorites, but they were simply twists on classics. I had the fried chicken and rosemary waffle..crunchy and light but sweet. Also had deviled eggs that were very rich; the bourbon bacon which was thick cut and not crunchy but pork-tastic. Also sampled their house made biscuits with honey and rosemary butter...fresh every day...and the beignets with chicory coffee dip..very New Orleans. The brunch menu is limited but they do have a vegetarian skillet and a salad option. Bartender was our server so it was a bit slow to start, but they were very nice. MUST have the beef jerky straw with your bloody mary

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great vibe, wonderful food, vibrant atmosphere. We have been here twice now, and had good experiences both times. Parking can be a little dicey, but we were able to get front and center on the street in front of the restaurant this time. The food is unique and extremely fresh. The menu is limited, but that is probably why everything comes out perfect. I had shrimp over grits and my husband had the seafood pot. Both were great. They are served with right out of the oven biscuits which were wonderful. Based on the prices, an addition of a salad or cup of soup would make this place perfect. You won't go home hungry, but don't plan on taking anything with you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank miss_patty526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soho Chicken + Whiskey also viewed

 

Been to Soho Chicken + Whiskey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing