We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice outdoor seating and attentive service in a Detroit-Shoreway bar with good but pricey food.”

Spice Kitchen + Bar
Ranked #87 of 1,854 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: WHERE THE LOCALS EAT LOCAL. "An endless procession of chefs voice devotion to sustainable agriculture. Few Northeast Ohio restaurateurs exhibit so finely honed a commitment to farm-to-table cuisine as the Bebenroths." - Joe Crea, Dining Editor, Northeast Ohio Media Group At Spice, orders for "the usual" have been replaced by requests like, "I'll take whatever's growing." Our food and drink menus change seasonally, and our daily specials are infused with just-picked ingredients from our on-site hoop house or our farm in the Cuyahoga Valley National Park. To Chef Ben Bebenroth, buying local is all about supporting independent growers who are strong stewards of our land. Our goal is to source at least 80% of all ingredients from small family farms practicing sustainable forms of agriculture within a 150-mile radius of Cleveland. Our revenue is kept within the community, not spread among a national corporate franchise, to help build momentum toward the revitalization of our city neighborhoods. For you, this means fresher, nutrient-dense ingredients that you can trust, prepared from scratch by classically trained chefs. Located at the gateway to Gordon Square Arts District, about 10 minutes west of downtown Cleveland, Spice also offers creative indoor and outdoor special events spaces for those seeking a new celebration destination.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor seating and attentive service in a Detroit-Shoreway bar with good but pricey food.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Met several colleagues for a Thursday night business dinner. Bar and dinner service were quick and pleasant without disrupting our conversation. I had tomato bisque, beautifully presented, $9, and lamb two ways with mashed potatoes and green beans, $30. Both were delicious. Patio seating behind the building was quiet and not too crowded. This restaurant is one long block east of Gordon Square on Detroit Avenue, definitely urban but safe enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    23
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really fresh food”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Met some friends for dinner and we enjoyed EVERYTHING! We started with their chickpea fries and sauce- very tasty. The mushroom beignets melted in your mouth. We each had a salad - FRESH. We split the ravioli's (they were out of the one listed on the menu but the substitutes were delish anyway) and than we split the pork loin- it was a large piece and also had great flavors to it. Nice and relaxing atmosphere, not rushed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clevelandbiffOrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Local food and lots of it”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I went here after finding an apartment in Cleveland this week. The food was really good. We got the cornbread and chickpea fries for apps and they were delicious. The cornbread is served with some sort of rosemary bacon butter which I didn't eat because I'm not a bacon person. I got the Bibb salad and the potato stuffed ravioli and spinach puree, both cooked well and in season. A friend of mine and my mom ordered off the restaurant week menu and weren't disappointed. The apple cobbler is amazing and the ice cream with it is home made! Definitely a restaurant to go back to, but it is a little bit pricey.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local ingredients, gourmet cuisine, neighborhood gem”
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed every aspect of our experience at Spice Kitchen + Bar. The seasonal menu was loaded with fresh, local ingredients in creative preparations. Our meals were sensational and our service was excellent. I went in with high expectations based on what I had heard and read and Spice exceeded them. We can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank DA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spice is nice”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Nice quiet environment, good food and service at a decent price. We had the walleye chowder, broiled walleye, roast chicken, and pulled pork. Everyone enjoyed the visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itchy-Ban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Kitchen + Bar also viewed

 
Cleveland, OH
 

Been to Spice Kitchen + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing